The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Dec 25, 2013, 01:33am
Official Forum Member

Question from a coach

I'm a varsity boys coach. I run into a consistent problem during games and I would like your advice on how to approach this with officials respectfully and productively.

My point guard is a small kid, but he is quicker and stronger than 95% of the guys guarding him. We run the popular dribble-drive offense and he's constantly penetrating. To defend him, our opponents have to hand check, bump, and push him. When they get away with it just a little, the next possession they do it more. And then a little more. And since the kid is physically able to withstand the pressure, he doesn't get knocked down...but he's obviously unable to get where he wants to go, and it isn't because he's being legally guarded.

There are games where the officials start off calling it tight, but when they see the scoreboard say that the fouls are 4-0 in mid-first quarter, they back off on the whistles and my opponent can resort to whatever tactics they want. I see this problem as twofold: the officials consciously or subconsciously don't want to "be here all night" by putting one team in the bonus that early, AND they want the fans to see that the game is being called fairly by making the fouls closer on the scoreboard. In both cases the rulebook is thrown out the window and we lose our advantage.