The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 05:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,282
This is such an easy charge, at worst a no call as the contact is rather weak. Sure the defender could of opened a bit more to the dribbler. One of the core fundamentals in FED is that a a player is entitled to their spot on the floor as long as they got there first and legally.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 05:34pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
This is such an easy block. The defender is sliding (slide stepping?) down the inside of the lane line. She turns her body and causes the contact with her shoulder and her feet are now over (right foot actually outside) the lane line. She doesn't get to move into the offensive player like that.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 06:14pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
This is such an easy block. The defender is sliding (slide stepping?) down the inside of the lane line. She turns her body and causes the contact with her shoulder and her feet are now over (right foot actually outside) the lane line. She doesn't get to move into the offensive player like that.

She sure does to get to move like that since she has obtained LGP and is allowed to move to maintain it, and she was not moving obliquely into the dribbler when contact occurred.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 06:51pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
She sure does to get to move like that since she has obtained LGP and is allowed to move to maintain it, and she was not moving obliquely into the dribbler when contact occurred.

MTD, Sr.
Yes she did move into the shooter. Was inside the lane and then wasn't. How is that not moving into the shooter and causing the contact?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 07:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,282
The defender never left the lane.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 135
Send a message via AIM to rpirtle Send a message via Yahoo to rpirtle
I see R1's turning just before contact as simply protecting herself before the impact. That said...I am in the same camp as those who say R1 never attained LGP. It looks like a Block to me. Great discussion though...!!!
__________________
I'm getting what I want...by helping others get what they want.

Last edited by rpirtle; Wed Dec 18, 2013 at 09:04pm. Reason: Clarification
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 19, 2013, 10:22am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
I have a .

I don't think it's all that close either.

Incidentally, I had a similar play to this my first year except the defender got there early enough that he was stationary and screening rules applied. I ruled that one a charge.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 19, 2013, 06:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
The defender never left the lane.
At the 4 second mark, defender has both feet fully in the lane. at 5 seconds, one foot is nearly over the lane line, she moved forward and into the offensive player. BLOCK.

That was my 1st thought and I am yet to be swayed.

When Mark chimed in, I had 2nd thoughts. But by consenses, I believe we have a block.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 19, 2013, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 38
I am the original poster of this video clip and I would like to sincerely thank each and every one of you for your comments.

I have learned a lot just from monitoring the lively discussion.

There seems to be some question whether the defender made a movement toward the dribbler prior to contact. My thought at the game was that she had.

I have no idea whether this will help but the original video was shot at 60 frames per second. Here is a frame of the clip immediately prior to contact. It again appears to me that the defender is leaning toward the dribbler (as in moving toward the dribbler) with her shoulder and the side of her body.


Last edited by xyrph; Thu Dec 19, 2013 at 09:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 19, 2013, 09:07pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan View Post
At the 4 second mark, defender has both feet fully in the lane. at 5 seconds, one foot is nearly over the lane line, she moved forward and into the offensive player. BLOCK.

That was my 1st thought and I am yet to be swayed.
When Mark chimed in, I had 2nd thoughts. But by consenses, I believe we have a block.
you and I both have the same poor eyesight. I saw the same thing.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Dec 19, 2013 at 09:10pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 09:41pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
She sure does to get to move like that since she has obtained LGP and is allowed to move to maintain it, and she was not moving obliquely into the dribbler when contact occurred.

MTD, Sr.
She moved into the offensive player. She was not retreating or moving sideways to maintain LGP at that point.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 18
The Real Question...

Either Camp Block or PC, the LGP question has to be answered.

If you believe block then you believe no LGP

If you believe PC then you believe LGP was obtained.

This discussion about shoulder contact being caused by defensive player and that is why it is a block is a terrible argument. In no way is she moving towards the offensive player, nor is she displacing the offensive player. You are not watching the same clip that is posted in this thread twice. Nor can you argue that by an rule or case play.

So if you believe it to be a block simply state she didn't have LGP and we would argue that if we were on the crew together. But to say that is an easy block call then you are lazily interpreting the rules and listening to the crowd.

It is a difficult call and we have a bad angle to get a real sense of what Lead saw.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 10:09pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWKS View Post

If you believe PC then you believe LGP was obtained.
It is possible to have a PC foul without a defender ever having LGP. You know that, right?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove

Last edited by just another ref; Wed Dec 18, 2013 at 10:13pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 10:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
It is possible to have a PC foul without a defender ever having LGP. You know that, right?
Yes I know that, just wondering what the confusion or tick question might be coming?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 10:40pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
It is possible to have a PC foul without a defender ever having LGP. You know that, right?
It's also possible to have a blocking foul when LGP had been established.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duke-Vermont Video Clip Request (Clip Added) The_Rookie Basketball 16 Mon Nov 25, 2013 02:40pm
Let the players decide.... Andy Softball 5 Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:16am
Need Help! Can't decide UKCATSFAN Baseball 11 Tue Mar 29, 2011 10:28pm
So What Did We Decide? Or Did We? refnrev Basketball 4 Sun Oct 15, 2006 09:22pm
Co-incidence? You decide... rainmaker Basketball 6 Mon May 30, 2005 06:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1