The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 01:22am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Let me just add one more dynamic to this. A has AP throwin, it hits the bottom of the backboard and IW before it is touched. Does A retain the arrow or does it switch?
In this case, POI is the AP throw in, so the AP arrow would switch after the second throw in is completed.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 01:26am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
In this case, POI is the AP throw in, so the AP arrow would switch after the second throw in is completed.
Yes
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 11:11am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
In this case, POI is the AP throw in, so the AP arrow would switch after the second throw in is completed.
Question:

AP throw-in; B2 deflects throw-in; ball hits bottom of backboard; inadvertent whistle.

How do we handle this situation?

AP throw-in has ended, so AP arrow changes immediately. But do we still have TC by A, or does TC not apply to throw-in outside of fouls?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Nov 28, 2013 at 11:45am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Question:

AP throw-in; B2 deflects throw-in; ball hits bottom of backboard; inadvertent whistle.

How do handle this situation?

AP throw-in has ended, so AP arrow changes immediately. But do we still have TC by A, or does TC not apply to throw-in outside of fouls.
Now I know why you call yourself BadNews...LOL
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Question:

AP throw-in; B2 deflects throw-in; ball hits bottom of backboard; inadvertent whistle.

How do we handle this situation?

AP throw-in has ended, so AP arrow changes immediately. But do we still have TC by A, or does TC not apply to throw-in outside of fouls?

My take: The AP throwin has ended, but TC has not. Give the ball back to A, but the arrow is now with B so if there's a foul before the next throw-in ends, B still has the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 12:40pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
My take: The AP throwin has ended, but TC has not. Give the ball back to A, but the arrow is now with B so if there's a foul before the next throw-in ends, B still has the arrow.
I can see this point. Maybe I'm wrong. Will have to find out what our rules interpreter says.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
My take: The AP throwin has ended, but TC has not. Give the ball back to A, but the arrow is now with B so if there's a foul before the next throw-in ends, B still has the arrow.
So, the issue is whether the TC in regards to the throw-in ends with the end of the throw-in, or if it persists until TC is established on the floor, whether by the throw-in team or the opponent?
If I'm understanding this correctly, if TC by the throw-in team ends when the throw-in ends, (that is, when the deflection by B occurs) and the deflection doesn't constitute TC by the opponent, then an AP should follow the IW. And, if TC for the throw-in persists until either team establishes TC on the floor, the IW would result in a throw-in for the original throw-in team.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .

Last edited by Rob1968; Thu Nov 28, 2013 at 02:09pm. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Control on Throw In Bishopcolle Basketball 7 Wed Nov 23, 2011 04:23pm
Team Control/Throw In After Made FG JW100 Basketball 26 Mon Feb 28, 2011 08:44am
Team Control during Throw in Remington Basketball 21 Fri Feb 11, 2011 05:59pm
Team control exception on throw ins Buckley11 Basketball 18 Fri Nov 04, 2005 08:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1