The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Fixed it!
Still doesn't matter. Even in the throw-in had ended, you'd still give the ball to A (although the spot might now be different from the original spot). A still has team control.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 11:52am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Still doesn't matter. Even in the throw-in had ended, you'd still give the ball to A (although the spot might now be different from the original spot). A still has team control.
Team control on a throw-in, huh? Yeah, I'm a little slow this morning.

I would of been right two years ago though. lol

Thanks, Bob.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Not sure

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Still doesn't matter. Even in the throw-in had ended, you'd still give the ball to A (although the spot might now be different from the original spot). A still has team control.
I'm not sure I understand. Doesn't team control only apply if there is a foul by the throw-in team? My thinking is if the IW occurred after the throw-in hit the bottom edge and before the ball was legally touched then the POI would be a throw-in for Team A not on the basis of team control; but as tjones suggested: the throw-in had not ended. Now, if the ball hits the bottom edge > touches or is touched by a player (throw-in ends) > the IW occurs, POI > go to the AP? Similar to if an IW whistle occurs when a try is in flight > the try is unsuccessful (the try ends) > go to the AP. Help on this would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 08:06pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
I'm not sure I understand. Doesn't team control only apply if there is a foul by the throw-in team? My thinking is if the IW occurred after the throw-in hit the bottom edge and before the ball was legally touched then the POI would be a throw-in for Team A not on the basis of team control; but as tjones suggested: the throw-in had not ended. Now, if the ball hits the bottom edge > touches or is touched by a player (throw-in ends) > the IW occurs, POI > go to the AP? Similar to if an IW whistle occurs when a try is in flight > the try is unsuccessful (the try ends) > go to the AP. Help on this would be appreciated.
Honestly, this is a good point. Any speculation on how the NFHS would rule would be, frankly, like rolling dice.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2013, 11:22am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Honestly, this is a good point. Any speculation on how the NFHS would rule would be, frankly, like rolling dice.
I agree and some really good officials I know have argued the other side.

Absent written instructions, though, we only have the team control rules to go by.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2013, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
No way I'm coming in to get this from T, regardless of what I saw. (unless it went straight back)
To be honest, that's why I posted the situation in the first place and it was the same thing I was thinking as he came in and called it. I wish he would have left it alone.

It didn't go straight back, it might have gone at a slight angle toward the endline, but not much. I'm pretty sure it hit the corner of the padding on the bottom of the backboard.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2013, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
To be honest, that's why I posted the situation in the first place and it was the same thing I was thinking as he came in and called it. I wish he would have left it alone.

It didn't go straight back, it might have gone at a slight angle toward the endline, but not much. I'm pretty sure it hit the corner of the padding on the bottom of the backboard.
Doesn't matter

Matters

I'm sure it did. If it hit only the back, it would have rebounded straight back (and probably "up" as well, initially.) If it hit only the bottom it would have rebounded farther onto the court. The rule doesn't tell us specifically what to do if it hits the corner -- so most of us use the rule I've outlined above -- if it goes back at all it hit "enough" of the back to be a violation.

imo, of course -- and I agree that it's hard to get from T.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 12:56am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
AP posession

Let me just add one more dynamic to this. A has AP throwin, it hits the bottom of the backboard and IW before it is touched. Does A retain the arrow or does it switch?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 11:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
I'm not sure I understand. Doesn't team control only apply if there is a foul by the throw-in team?
No.

Quote:
Similar to if an IW whistle occurs when a try is in flight > the try is unsuccessful (the try ends) > go to the AP. Help on this would be appreciated.
TC does end when a try is in flight.

See 4-12-3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Control on Throw In Bishopcolle Basketball 7 Wed Nov 23, 2011 04:23pm
Team Control/Throw In After Made FG JW100 Basketball 26 Mon Feb 28, 2011 08:44am
Team Control during Throw in Remington Basketball 21 Fri Feb 11, 2011 05:59pm
Team control exception on throw ins Buckley11 Basketball 18 Fri Nov 04, 2005 08:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1