The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
On this note, I was working a scrimmage last Friday night. I was the Lead and administering the throw-in in the frontcourt on the endline. The thrower went to throw the ball to a teammate and it hit the bottom (From what I could tell) of the backboard and came down in bounds on the court, where one of the players on the court grabbed it. I wasn't going call a violation because it looked like it came straight down, leading me to believe that it hit the bottom of the backboard and not the back. It also landed in bounds. My partner comes in after a brief delay and says that it was a violation. At the next break I asked him about it and he said that when it hit, it angled back toward the endline so it must have hit the back of the backboard. I told him that it landed in bounds and from my angle it went straight down so I would have left it alone. We agreed to disagree and went on.

I remember people talking about this on here before. If it doesn't come straight down after hitting the backboard do you guys always assume it hit the back?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
I remember people talking about this on here before. If it doesn't come straight down after hitting the backboard do you guys always assume it hit the back?
If it goes back, it hit the back.

Whether it went back is, of course, judgment.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 03:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If it goes back, it hit the back.

Whether it went back is, of course, judgment.
Is the corner of the padding on the bottom of the backboard considered the back?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 03:34pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Is the corner of the padding on the bottom of the backboard considered the back?
The rule of thumb is to see where the ball goes. If the ball rebounds back out of bounds then the ball probably hit the back. If the ball goes down as in the OP the ball probably hit the bottom. If the ball hits the back it should be obvious to everyone -- otherwise just play on.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
The rule of thumb is to see where the ball goes. If the ball rebounds back out of bounds then the ball probably hit the back. If the ball goes down as in the OP the ball probably hit the bottom. If the ball hits the back it should be obvious to everyone -- otherwise just play on.
I personally don't think it needs to rebound "back out of bounds". If it hits the court or is touched closer than 4' from the end line (as a general statement -- I'm not trying to get into measuring the diameter of the ball and which part of it hits where), then it hit the back.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 06:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I personally don't think it needs to rebound "back out of bounds". If it hits the court or is touched closer than 4' from the end line (as a general statement -- I'm not trying to get into measuring the diameter of the ball and which part of it hits where), then it hit the back.
Agree. If it does not continue on past the board, then it hit at least some part of the back.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 07:36pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
On this note, I was working a scrimmage last Friday night. I was the Lead and administering the throw-in in the frontcourt on the endline. The thrower went to throw the ball to a teammate and it hit the bottom (From what I could tell) of the backboard and came down in bounds on the court, where one of the players on the court grabbed it. I wasn't going call a violation because it looked like it came straight down, leading me to believe that it hit the bottom of the backboard and not the back. It also landed in bounds. My partner comes in after a brief delay and says that it was a violation. At the next break I asked him about it and he said that when it hit, it angled back toward the endline so it must have hit the back of the backboard. I told him that it landed in bounds and from my angle it went straight down so I would have left it alone. We agreed to disagree and went on.

I remember people talking about this on here before. If it doesn't come straight down after hitting the backboard do you guys always assume it hit the back?
No way I'm coming in to get this from T, regardless of what I saw. (unless it went straight back)
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 117
What about not "directly" into the court.

I believe we still have a violation because by hitting even the bottom of the backboard , which is inbounds...it did not go 'directly" onto the court.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
I believe we still have a violation because by hitting even the bottom of the backboard , which is inbounds...it did not go 'directly" onto the court.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
I believe we still have a violation because by hitting even the bottom of the backboard , which is inbounds...it did not go 'directly" onto the court.
BNR's scenario includes the ball having been thrown "directly onto the court" (it mentions that the ball was deflected by B), thus, no violation.
It seems to me, that there are two choices . . . POI may be considered the throw-in by A, and thus we re-do the throw-in,
or, we treat the scenario as the throw-in having been completed, (when the ball was touched by B) but with no team control having been established on the court, we may go to an AP throw-in.
Presently, I favor the latter. But I'm willing to consider other opinions.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 11:31am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
BNR's scenario includes the ball having been thrown "directly onto the court" (it mentions that the ball was deflected by B), thus, no violation.
It seems to me, that there are two choices . . . POI may be considered the throw-in by A, and thus we re-do the throw-in,
or, we treat the scenario as the throw-in having been completed, (when the ball was touched by B) but with no team control having been established on the court, we may go to an AP throw-in.
Presently, I favor the latter. But I'm willing to consider other opinions.
If it hits the bottom of the backboard and we have an IW, it goes back to the AP throw in. The throw in has not been completed, and this isn't a violation. The arrow will change when the throw in has ended.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
If it hits the bottom of the backboard and we have an IW, it goes back to the AP throw in. The throw in has not been completed, and this isn't a violation. The arrow will change when the throw in has ended.
I agree, if the ball went directly from thrower-in A to the bottom of the backboard, but the scenario posed by BNR has the ball being deflected by B, and then hitting the bottom of the backboard. I understand that the throw-in ended when the ball was "deflected by B."
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 11:45am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
I agree, if the ball went directly from thrower-in A to the bottom of the backboard, but the scenario posed by BNR has the ball being deflected by B, and then hitting the bottom of the backboard. I understand that the throw-in ended when the ball was "deflected by B."
I didn't catch his scenario. If the throw in ended, which it does when it is legally touched by B, the arrow changes then, and there is an IW and no team control exists then you go to the AP, which would be team B ball.

Last edited by OKREF; Thu Nov 28, 2013 at 11:51am.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 11:40am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
i believe we still have a violation because by hitting even the bottom of the backboard , which is inbounds...it did not go 'directly" onto the court.
7.1.2 Situation A
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 11:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
4-4-5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
I believe we still have a violation because by hitting even the bottom of the backboard , which is inbounds...it did not go 'directly" onto the court.
"A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Control on Throw In Bishopcolle Basketball 7 Wed Nov 23, 2011 04:23pm
Team Control/Throw In After Made FG JW100 Basketball 26 Mon Feb 28, 2011 08:44am
Team Control during Throw in Remington Basketball 21 Fri Feb 11, 2011 05:59pm
Team control exception on throw ins Buckley11 Basketball 18 Fri Nov 04, 2005 08:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1