The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 10:54am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Team control, throw-in, IW

Team A's throw-in hits the underside of the basket. An official blows an IW.

Administer the aftermath.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 10:57am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
POI is the throw-in...readminster.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 10:58am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Throw-in never ended as it was not legally touched.

Team A's ball for the throw-in.

Last edited by tjones1; Tue Nov 26, 2013 at 11:27am. Reason: Bob caught me!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 11:00am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
I either agree with either APG or tjones1, depending on whom I like better today.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Throw-in never ended and it was not legally touched.
Team A's ball for the throw-in.
Does that matter?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
On this note, I was working a scrimmage last Friday night. I was the Lead and administering the throw-in in the frontcourt on the endline. The thrower went to throw the ball to a teammate and it hit the bottom (From what I could tell) of the backboard and came down in bounds on the court, where one of the players on the court grabbed it. I wasn't going call a violation because it looked like it came straight down, leading me to believe that it hit the bottom of the backboard and not the back. It also landed in bounds. My partner comes in after a brief delay and says that it was a violation. At the next break I asked him about it and he said that when it hit, it angled back toward the endline so it must have hit the back of the backboard. I told him that it landed in bounds and from my angle it went straight down so I would have left it alone. We agreed to disagree and went on.

I remember people talking about this on here before. If it doesn't come straight down after hitting the backboard do you guys always assume it hit the back?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
I remember people talking about this on here before. If it doesn't come straight down after hitting the backboard do you guys always assume it hit the back?
If it goes back, it hit the back.

Whether it went back is, of course, judgment.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 03:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If it goes back, it hit the back.

Whether it went back is, of course, judgment.
Is the corner of the padding on the bottom of the backboard considered the back?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 07:36pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
On this note, I was working a scrimmage last Friday night. I was the Lead and administering the throw-in in the frontcourt on the endline. The thrower went to throw the ball to a teammate and it hit the bottom (From what I could tell) of the backboard and came down in bounds on the court, where one of the players on the court grabbed it. I wasn't going call a violation because it looked like it came straight down, leading me to believe that it hit the bottom of the backboard and not the back. It also landed in bounds. My partner comes in after a brief delay and says that it was a violation. At the next break I asked him about it and he said that when it hit, it angled back toward the endline so it must have hit the back of the backboard. I told him that it landed in bounds and from my angle it went straight down so I would have left it alone. We agreed to disagree and went on.

I remember people talking about this on here before. If it doesn't come straight down after hitting the backboard do you guys always assume it hit the back?
No way I'm coming in to get this from T, regardless of what I saw. (unless it went straight back)
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 117
What about not "directly" into the court.

I believe we still have a violation because by hitting even the bottom of the backboard , which is inbounds...it did not go 'directly" onto the court.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
On this note, I was working a scrimmage last Friday night. I was the Lead and administering the throw-in in the frontcourt on the endline. The thrower went to throw the ball to a teammate and it hit the bottom (From what I could tell) of the backboard and came down in bounds on the court, where one of the players on the court grabbed it. I wasn't going call a violation because it looked like it came straight down, leading me to believe that it hit the bottom of the backboard and not the back. It also landed in bounds. My partner comes in after a brief delay and says that it was a violation. At the next break I asked him about it and he said that when it hit, it angled back toward the endline so it must have hit the back of the backboard. I told him that it landed in bounds and from my angle it went straight down so I would have left it alone. We agreed to disagree and went on.

I remember people talking about this on here before. If it doesn't come straight down after hitting the backboard do you guys always assume it hit the back?
Were you working w/Ed HighTower?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 11:27am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Does that matter?
Fixed it!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Fixed it!
Still doesn't matter. Even in the throw-in had ended, you'd still give the ball to A (although the spot might now be different from the original spot). A still has team control.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 11:52am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Still doesn't matter. Even in the throw-in had ended, you'd still give the ball to A (although the spot might now be different from the original spot). A still has team control.
Team control on a throw-in, huh? Yeah, I'm a little slow this morning.

I would of been right two years ago though. lol

Thanks, Bob.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2013, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Not sure

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Still doesn't matter. Even in the throw-in had ended, you'd still give the ball to A (although the spot might now be different from the original spot). A still has team control.
I'm not sure I understand. Doesn't team control only apply if there is a foul by the throw-in team? My thinking is if the IW occurred after the throw-in hit the bottom edge and before the ball was legally touched then the POI would be a throw-in for Team A not on the basis of team control; but as tjones suggested: the throw-in had not ended. Now, if the ball hits the bottom edge > touches or is touched by a player (throw-in ends) > the IW occurs, POI > go to the AP? Similar to if an IW whistle occurs when a try is in flight > the try is unsuccessful (the try ends) > go to the AP. Help on this would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Control on Throw In Bishopcolle Basketball 7 Wed Nov 23, 2011 04:23pm
Team Control/Throw In After Made FG JW100 Basketball 26 Mon Feb 28, 2011 08:44am
Team Control during Throw in Remington Basketball 21 Fri Feb 11, 2011 05:59pm
Team control exception on throw ins Buckley11 Basketball 18 Fri Nov 04, 2005 08:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1