The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 04:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
He already was in the path. I'm not talking about an extended shoulder. I'm just saying he doesn't have to be perfectly centered to have legal position.

Try this: Contact would have been on his left pectoral muscle had he remained stationary. But he moves laterally so now the contact is on the right pectoral muscle instead. This movement does not make it a block.
No one is saying a defender has to be perfectly centered to have LGP and there's nothing in the rules which says that either. What APG and I are saying is a defender can't shift position on an opponent who is airborne.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 05:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
No one is saying a defender has to be perfectly centered to have LGP and there's nothing in the rules which says that either. What APG and I are saying is a defender can't shift position on an opponent who is airborne.
Where does it actually say they can't shift position? I only find that they can't move into the path on an opponent that is airborne. If they shift form a position in the path to another position that is in the path they have not violated any rule I can find.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 06:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Where does it actually say they can't shift position? I only find that they can't move into the path on an opponent that is airborne. If they shift form a position in the path to another position that is in the path they have not violated any rule I can find.
So we're supposed to judge whether B1 has moved into or within the path of A1 while A1 is airborne?

1. Do you believe that's the intent of the rule as it concerns an airborne player?
2. Is that how you've called it in the past?
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
So we're supposed to judge whether B1 has moved into or within the path of A1 while A1 is airborne?

1. Do you believe that's the intent of the rule as it concerns an airborne player?
2. Is that how you've called it in the past?

Yes. yes. Yes.

imo, of course.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes. yes. Yes.

imo, of course.
I believe I left something out of my question: So we're supposed to judge whether B1 has moved a into or within the path of A1 while A1 is airborne AND if it was within but not into A1's path call the play a PC foul?
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
I believe I left something out of my question: So we're supposed to judge whether B1 has moved a into or within the path of A1 while A1 is airborne AND if it was within but not into A1's path call the play a PC foul?
I was already assuming that part, at least mostly. It could be a no call. It can't (or shouldn't) be a block.

Judging it in practice (where exactly is A1 going and would contact have been made if B1 was "frozen" at the time A1 left the ground (NCAAW) or gathered (NCAAM)?) is more difficult than discussing it in theory, though (especially since the path can change after the gather in NCAAM -- the path is set once a player is in the air as in NCAAW).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
So we're supposed to judge whether B1 has moved into or within the path of A1 while A1 is airborne?

1. Do you believe that's the intent of the rule as it concerns an airborne player?
2. Is that how you've called it in the past?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
I believe I left something out of my question: So we're supposed to judge whether B1 has moved a into or within the path of A1 while A1 is airborne AND if it was within but not into A1's path call the play a PC foul?
Yes to all of the Q's.

If B1 was legally A1's path before and was still in A1's path as A1 became airborne, then B1 has LGP. It is a PC regardless of whether B1 moves a little more or not. B1 has met the requirements of LGP.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 05:12pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
If B1 was legally A1's path before and was still in A1's path as A1 became airborne, then B1 has LGP. It is a PC regardless of whether B1 moves a little more or not. B1 has met the requirements of LGP.
I said it first. Camron said it better.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VID request Serge Ibaka/Matt Barnes altercation (Clip Added) jeremy341a Basketball 13 Fri Nov 15, 2013 08:34pm
Video Request Indiana Miami: Foul causes a travel (Video Added) Sharpshooternes Basketball 12 Fri May 24, 2013 04:44pm
Additional kU v Mich clip request (Video Added) ballgame99 Basketball 8 Mon Apr 01, 2013 09:38am
Video Request: Georgetown v. Florida GC (Video Added) JRutledge Basketball 13 Mon Mar 25, 2013 03:15pm
Video request: OVC Title game Murray St. vs. Belmont (Video Added) JRutledge Basketball 8 Sat Mar 23, 2013 06:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1