The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 20, 2013, 05:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor. If the ball goes through the basket before or after the contact occurs, the player-control foul cancels the goal. However, if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1.
In the clip, though, wouldn't you say that B1 is already in the path of A1 with LGP before the try attempt starts? B1 certainly does move a couple of feet laterally after A1's try begins. Is any movement laterally acceptable? What if B1 just slides one foot a few inches over? Block or charge?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 20, 2013, 06:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lotto View Post
In the clip, though, wouldn't you say that B1 is already in the path of A1 with LGP before the try attempt starts? B1 certainly does move a couple of feet laterally after A1's try begins.
Yes, but B1 also has to maintain LGP until A1 returns to the floor. Shifting laterally while A1 is airborne isn't maintaining LGP. If it was, shooters would be getting low-bridged with no consequences all game long.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lotto View Post
Is any movement laterally acceptable? What if B1 just slides one foot a few inches over? Block or charge?
This would be where judgment comes into play.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)

Last edited by JetMetFan; Wed Nov 20, 2013 at 10:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 20, 2013, 10:22pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Yes, but B1 also has to maintain LGP until A1 returns to the floor. Shifting laterally while A1 is airborne isn't maintaining LGP.
It can be. Situation: B1 is in a legal guarding position where airborne A1 would contact his left shoulder. B1 shifts slightly to his left. A1 now makes contact with B1's right shoulder. Charge on A1.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 12:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
It can be. Situation: B1 is in a legal guarding position where airborne A1 would contact his left shoulder. B1 shifts slightly to his left. A1 now makes contact with B1's right shoulder. Charge on A1.
Again, that's where judgment comes into play. Your definition of "slightly" is going to be different from mine, which will be different from someone else's. However, if A1 is airborne and would've contacted B1's left shoulder but B1 moves and the contact is on his/her right shoulder some would consider that more than "slight" movement. That's shoulder-width movement.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 12:35am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
JAR's interp would eventually get him fired from a college staff.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 12:38am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
It can be. Situation: B1 is in a legal guarding position where airborne A1 would contact his left shoulder. B1 shifts slightly to his left. A1 now makes contact with B1's right shoulder. Charge on A1.
Can't envision this as anything other than a block.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 01:25am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Can't envision this as anything other than a block.
He's there stationary. Offensive player about to make contact. He moves one foot absolutely perpendicular to the path of the offensive player and this makes it a block? Why?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 01:39am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
He's there stationary. Offensive player about to make contact. He moves one foot absolutely perpendicular to the path of the offensive player and this makes it a block? Why?
After he's airborne? If he's not already in the path before the opponent is airborne, this is a blocking foul (I wouldn't consider a shoulder as being in the path)...unless something is getting lost in translation here.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 01:46am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
After he's airborne? If he's not already in the path before the opponent is airborne, this is a blocking foul (I wouldn't consider a shoulder as being in the path)...unless something is getting lost in translation here.
He already was in the path. I'm not talking about an extended shoulder. I'm just saying he doesn't have to be perfectly centered to have legal position.

Try this: Contact would have been on his left pectoral muscle had he remained stationary. But he moves laterally so now the contact is on the right pectoral muscle instead. This movement does not make it a block.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 02:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Can't envision this as anything other than a block.
I disagree. If B1's movement is such that it doesn't change anything other than the exact point where they take the contact but contact would have occurred even if B1 didn't move laterlly, then B1 had LGP all the time is is legal. B1 is only prohibited from moving INTO the path, not from moving within the path.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VID request Serge Ibaka/Matt Barnes altercation (Clip Added) jeremy341a Basketball 13 Fri Nov 15, 2013 08:34pm
Video Request Indiana Miami: Foul causes a travel (Video Added) Sharpshooternes Basketball 12 Fri May 24, 2013 04:44pm
Additional kU v Mich clip request (Video Added) ballgame99 Basketball 8 Mon Apr 01, 2013 09:38am
Video Request: Georgetown v. Florida GC (Video Added) JRutledge Basketball 13 Mon Mar 25, 2013 03:15pm
Video request: OVC Title game Murray St. vs. Belmont (Video Added) JRutledge Basketball 8 Sat Mar 23, 2013 06:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1