The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 03, 2013, 08:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 66
Make the call

A potential Louisiana test question. What say the great minds on this forum?

With time running out in the 4th quarter, Team B scores giving them a 3-point lead. A1 inbounds the ball to A2 near the sideline in front of Team B's bench. A2 releases a 3-point try prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B6 enters the court and blocks the shot. Official charges B6 with a technical foul for entering the court illegally and a second technical foul for unsporting conduct. This ruling is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 03, 2013, 08:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Yes, it's correct. I think it's directly from a case play or interp.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 03, 2013, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 66
Me and guys I know locally haven't found a casebook play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 03, 2013, 09:14pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
From the 2005-2006 NFHS Basketball Interpretations:

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot.

RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)

Archives of past interpretations can be found in this thread:

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...s-archive.html
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 03, 2013, 09:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 66
Wow! That far back to find a reference. Thanks. Will share with local colleagues. Anyone disagree? There wasn't a consensus here.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 03, 2013, 09:48pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
What did your colleague's that disagreed suggest? And no I don't disagree with the interpretation...you have to find a way to give the offended team at least a chance to get the 3 points it was trying to obtain through the penalization.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 03, 2013, 09:59pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefAHallic View Post
Wow! That far back to find a reference. Thanks. Will share with local colleagues. Anyone disagree? There wasn't a consensus here.
I don't think it will be a test question.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 06:25pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Three On A Match ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct.
How about a third technical for playing with more than five players?

Pile on. Why not? Seriously. Why not?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Oct 04, 2013 at 06:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 06:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
How about a third technical for playing with more than five players?

Why not? Seriously. Why not?
And if you get out a ruler, you could probably figure out a way to say that he entered with an illegal uniform for one more T.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 06:51pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
How about a third technical for playing with more than five players?

Pile on. Why not? Seriously. Why not?
Because the interpretation tells you not to?

And we tend not to penalize one action with multiple technical fouls...if Team B already had a DOG warning, and B1 reaches across and hits the thrower on arm, we aren't going to give Team A four shots for B1 simultaneously committing an intentional foul and a second delay of game warning for his team.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 08, 2013, 04:09am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
From the 2005-2006 NFHS Basketball Interpretations:

[RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...s-archive.html
Interesting. I thought that players were always "disqualified" and not Ejected as they remain on the bench and do not leave the visual confines of the playing area. The above ruling, if taken verbatim from the book would contradict this. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 08, 2013, 06:05am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Ejection Seat ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Interesting. I thought that players were always "disqualified" and not Ejected as they remain on the bench and do not leave the visual confines of the playing area. The above ruling, if taken verbatim from the book would contradict this. Thoughts?
Agree. Poor wording. Probably means ejected from the game.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 39
Send a message via Yahoo to habram
Make the call

My Question in reference to this situation.

If the shooter was fouled , would the team receive 5 shots

3 for being fouled on a 3pt shot and 2 for the technical
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by habram View Post
My Question in reference to this situation.

If the shooter was fouled , would the team receive 5 shots

3 for being fouled on a 3pt shot and 2 for the technical
Can bench personnel commit a personal foul?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 05:17pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
APG will almost certainly correct me, but I think the NBA rule is to count the shot and charge a technical. I couldn't find a copy of the 2013-14 casebook, and couldn't find a situation like that in the 2012-13 casebook. My guess is that this is treated kinda like the Tony Allen-Derek Fisher towel-throwing play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You make the Call iowasoftballump Softball 12 Tue Jun 17, 2008 03:12pm
What call would you make? RANCHMAN Basketball 29 Sat May 31, 2008 02:02am
Make the call oppool Softball 29 Sat Mar 01, 2003 06:37pm
Make the call oppool Softball 14 Sun Oct 13, 2002 03:36pm
Make the Call oppool Softball 12 Fri Jul 19, 2002 09:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1