The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 30, 2013, 07:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
If A1 is dribbling, the ball touches the front court while both of his feet are still at the back, can the ball touch the backcourt again? What if only 1 of his foot is at the backcourt?

Vice versa can the player go back to backcourt if both his feet/1 of his foot is at the front court while the ball is still at the back court?


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 30, 2013, 08:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by potato View Post
If A1 is dribbling, the ball touches the front court while both of his feet are still at the back, can the ball touch the backcourt again? What if only 1 of his foot is at the backcourt?

Vice versa can the player go back to backcourt if both his feet/1 of his foot is at the front court while the ball is still at the back court?
A dribbler who has not yet established the ball AND both feet in the front court is considered to have back court status. Until the ball has attained front court status, the team in control is still subject to the 10 second count.

Do you own a rules book?
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city

Last edited by justacoach; Tue Jul 30, 2013 at 08:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 30, 2013, 08:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Same rule ... different article

ART. 6

During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 01, 2013, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
So as long as the ball & feet hasn't pass the mid line they are still consider backcourt even if they all touches the line right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
Same rule ... different article

ART. 6

During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 01, 2013, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by potato View Post
So as long as the ball & feet hasn't pass the mid line they are still consider backcourt even if they all touches the line right?
The ball and feet can even pass the division line in the air and still not be in the frountcourt until they actually touch the floor past the division line.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 02, 2013, 08:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by potato View Post
So as long as the ball & feet hasn't pass the mid line they are still consider backcourt even if they all touches the line right?
The line is in the backcourt (both backcourts).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back Court vs. Front Court. MagnusonX Basketball 72 Sun Oct 17, 2010 08:34am
Back Court (or not!) Burtis449 Basketball 8 Tue Dec 29, 2009 04:06pm
Back court Steve_pa Basketball 4 Mon Feb 24, 2003 06:48pm
back court JWalker Basketball 11 Mon Apr 29, 2002 01:39pm
BACK COURT OR NOT? ROBERT TRAHAN Basketball 7 Wed Feb 16, 2000 10:04am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1