The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Back-Court or Not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/95678-back-court-not.html)

bd41flpk Tue Jul 30, 2013 10:53am

Back-Court or Not?
 
Can I please get some commentary on this play and rule reference as well?

A1 is in the front-court standing w/the ball, he then passes to A2 who is 'airborne' at the time of the pass from the back-court. A2 simultaneously cathces the pass w/one foot established (touching) in the front-court and the second foot airborne.

Ruling: I say this is 'legal' since the ball/both feet rule applies to a 'dribbler' and IMHO A2 has established legal front-court status w/the first foot in the front-court.

Many of my colleagues believe otherwise, since BOTH feet have not gained front-court status.

Thanks in advance.

PG_Ref Tue Jul 30, 2013 11:06am

Have your colleagues read 4-4-2:

ART. 2

A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if *neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

Bad Zebra Tue Jul 30, 2013 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bd41flpk (Post 901202)
Can I please get some commentary on this play and rule reference as well?

A1 is in the front-court standing w/the ball, he then passes to A2 who is 'airborne' at the time of the pass from the back-court. A2 simultaneously cathces the pass w/one foot established (touching) in the front-court and the second foot airborne.

Ruling: I say this is 'legal' since the ball/both feet rule applies to a 'dribbler' and IMHO A2 has established legal front-court status w/the first foot in the front-court.

Many of my colleagues believe otherwise, since BOTH feet have not gained front-court status.

Thanks in advance.

There's a bit of a contradiction in your description...and it's a critical point. Was A2 airborne or was one foot touching when he made contact with the pass?

bd41flpk Tue Jul 30, 2013 11:11am

Much appreciate the rule reference and affirming my take on the rule !

bob jenkins Tue Jul 30, 2013 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bd41flpk (Post 901202)
A2 simultaneously cathces the pass w/one foot established (touching)

No such thing (as I am reading it). The official must decide which happened first. If the foot touched first, then legal. If the ball was touched first, then illegal.

Benefit of the doubt to the legality, though.

bd41flpk Tue Jul 30, 2013 11:16am

Please note the statement - 'simultaneous' in the description:
'...A2 simultaneously catches the pass w/one foot established (touching) in the front-court and the second foot airborne...'

Hence, as A2 catches the pass his 1st foot is in contact w/the front-court at the same-time.

This make sense?

bob jenkins Tue Jul 30, 2013 11:18am

I read "Simultaneous" to mean "happens at the same time." You could drop the word altogether and it would be clearer (to me).

Raymond Tue Jul 30, 2013 11:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bd41flpk (Post 901202)
...Many of my colleagues believe otherwise, since BOTH feet have not gained front-court status.

Thanks in advance.


Many of your colleagues sound like most of the local officials here on the peninsula who don't ever read the rule book yet want to tell somebody they are wrong about a rule.

And I agree with Bob about unnecessarily including the word "simultaneously". It can confuse the audience in this situation.

potato Tue Jul 30, 2013 07:54pm

If A1 is dribbling, the ball touches the front court while both of his feet are still at the back, can the ball touch the backcourt again? What if only 1 of his foot is at the backcourt?

Vice versa can the player go back to backcourt if both his feet/1 of his foot is at the front court while the ball is still at the back court?



justacoach Tue Jul 30, 2013 08:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 901243)
If A1 is dribbling, the ball touches the front court while both of his feet are still at the back, can the ball touch the backcourt again? What if only 1 of his foot is at the backcourt?

Vice versa can the player go back to backcourt if both his feet/1 of his foot is at the front court while the ball is still at the back court?

A dribbler who has not yet established the ball AND both feet in the front court is considered to have back court status. Until the ball has attained front court status, the team in control is still subject to the 10 second count.

Do you own a rules book?

PG_Ref Tue Jul 30, 2013 08:02pm

Same rule ... different article

ART. 6

During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

potato Thu Aug 01, 2013 09:07pm

So as long as the ball & feet hasn't pass the mid line they are still consider backcourt even if they all touches the line right?

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 901245)
Same rule ... different article

ART. 6

During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.


Camron Rust Thu Aug 01, 2013 09:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 901505)
So as long as the ball & feet hasn't pass the mid line they are still consider backcourt even if they all touches the line right?

The ball and feet can even pass the division line in the air and still not be in the frountcourt until they actually touch the floor past the division line.

bob jenkins Fri Aug 02, 2013 08:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 901505)
So as long as the ball & feet hasn't pass the mid line they are still consider backcourt even if they all touches the line right?

The line is in the backcourt (both backcourts).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1