The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2013, 10:06pm
Eschew obfuscation.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The 2nd free throw is shot with no one along the lane line. What situation can you ever think of where you would run the end line after a made free throw where no one is along the lane line?
Can you provide a rule reference either way to support either ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 07:32am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeschmit View Post
Can you provide a rule reference either way to support either ruling?
No rule, no case play that I came up with right at this moment.

A1 is shooting 1-and-1. While A1's successful first free throw is in flight A2 fouls B2 adjacent to the division line. You need to enforce A2's foul but A1 is entitled to a 2nd free throw. So, by rule, the ball is to become dead after A1's 2nd free throw, therefore you do not put anyone along the lane line. The result of that free throw no longer has any bearing on what happens to the ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 07:48am
Eschew obfuscation.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
No rule, no case play that I came up with right at this moment.

A1 is shooting 1-and-1. While A1's successful first free throw is in flight A2 fouls B2 adjacent to the division line. You need to enforce A2's foul but A1 is entitled to a 2nd free throw. So, by rule, the ball is to become dead after A1's 2nd free throw, therefore you do not put anyone along the lane line. The result of that free throw no longer has any bearing on what happens to the ball.
I'm just playing devil's advocate because I received a response from a "big dog" in NCAAW that you're supposed to put the ball on the end line after this type of play... I asked them for a rule reference but haven't heard back yet.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 08:00am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeschmit View Post
I'm just playing devil's advocate because I received a response from a "big dog" in NCAAW that you're supposed to put the ball on the end line after this type of play... I asked them for a rule reference but haven't heard back yet.
I've been fortunate to have worked a couple of games with "big dawgs" on the Men's side over the last couple years. Rules knowledge was not #1 on their resumes
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 307
The Fed has it covered, somewhat ...

7.5.7 Situation F: A1 is fouled during an unsuccessful try and is awarded two free throws. While A1's successful first free throw is in flight, A2 fouls B1 along the lane. Team B is not in the bonus. The lane is cleared for A1's second attempt. A1 then violates by having a foot through the free-throw-line plane prematurely. RULING: The free-throw violation by A1 cancels the second attempt. Since Team B is not in the bonus, it results in a designated spot throw-in from the nearest spot out of bounds from where A2's foul occurred. Team B may not move along the end line as the last free throw was unsuccessful. (9-1-3e)

The question I have, unless I'm totally missing something, is why do you need a caseplay for a basic application of the rules? Live ball, common foul, team not in bonus, ball goes to offended team for a throw-in at a spot nearest the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 09:20am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Also (from FED):

7.5.7 SITUATION C:

Team B has scored a field goal and A1 has the ball along the end line for a throw-in. Team A is not in the bonus. Prior to the ball being thrown inbounds by A1: (a) B1 fouls A2 inbounds near A1; (b) B1 fouls A2 at the *division line; (c) B1 fouls A2 beyond the division line; or (d) A2 requests a time-out.

RULING: In (a) and (d), Team A may throw-in from anywhere out of bounds along the end line following the foul reporting and the time-out. In (b) and (c), the ball will be given to Team A for a throw-in from the spot out of bounds nearest to where the foul occurred.


__________________________________________________ _______________

So from the OP I'm putting the ball in play nearest the spot of the foul after A1's second free throw. In a case where the foul was along the lane line (meaning end line throw-in) then if A1's 2nd free throw is successful then I would allow Team B to run the end line.

I have no clear cut rules backing. Just a mish-mash of other rulings.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 11:30am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Rules knowledge was not #1 on their resumes
What is #1 on their resumes?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
What is #1 on their resumes?
Not getting involved in #2
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 11:37am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Not getting involved in #2
Nice!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 07:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeschmit View Post
I'm just playing devil's advocate because I received a response from a "big dog" in NCAAW that you're supposed to put the ball on the end line after this type of play... I asked them for a rule reference but haven't heard back yet.
It would appear your "big dog" friend doesn't understand how to handle false double fouls.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 08:05pm
Eschew obfuscation.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
It would appear your "big dog" friend doesn't understand how to handle false double fouls.
I'm not saying you are wrong (I actually am on your side as well). I just want to make sure we cover all angles per the rulebook.

Let's be honest with this play...

If you were to EVER have a play like this one... you are more than likely going F1, F2 or Technical (depending on the status of the ball).

IF I ever see this play that's how I'm handling this play from here on out!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 31, 2013, 08:20am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeschmit View Post
I'm not saying you are wrong (I actually am on your side as well). I just want to make sure we cover all angles per the rulebook.

Let's be honest with this play...

If you were to EVER have a play like this one... you are more than likely going F1, F2 or Technical (depending on the status of the ball).

IF I ever see this play that's how I'm handling this play from here on out!
1. He's right about false doubles, that's the angle you should take, as the book clearly states they're enforced in the order they occur.

2. 9 times out of 10, if you see this play, an intentional foul (F1) will be an option. But don't consider it the only way to go, as there are lots of off ball fouls that occur that are common fouls.

3. You'll never see anything like this in a high school game or above, but I wouldn't be too shocked to see it in a summer game. Knowing the rules (which are really quite clear on this) is key to enforcing these odd situations.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 01, 2013, 02:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeschmit View Post
I'm not saying you are wrong (I actually am on your side as well). I just want to make sure we cover all angles per the rulebook.

Let's be honest with this play...

If you were to EVER have a play like this one... you are more than likely going F1, F2 or Technical (depending on the status of the ball).

IF I ever see this play that's how I'm handling this play from here on out!
Calling the foul an F1 isn't going to get you out of having to know where to inbound the ball following all of the FTs. It just adds 2FTs at the other basket to the situation.

The only rule reference which you need is the one that tells you to administer a throw-in from the OOB spot nearest to the location of the foul when the bonus is not in effect. It's really that simple.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EOG sitch tref Basketball 27 Tue Nov 02, 2010 02:19pm
Help with a sitch.... SeanFitzRef Basketball 4 Sat Oct 20, 2007 03:10pm
Sitch Skahtboi Softball 27 Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:11am
Sitch whiskers_ump Softball 15 Sun Mar 19, 2006 09:37pm
Sitch 2 lrpalmer3 Basketball 62 Tue Feb 15, 2005 03:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1