The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2013, 09:29pm
Eschew obfuscation.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 304
Why wouldn't you resume play on the end line since you are resuming play after the second free throw?

(This is where I'm fighting myself on the rules)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2013, 09:58pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeschmit View Post
Why wouldn't you resume play on the end line since you are resuming play after the second free throw?

(This is where I'm fighting myself on the rules)
The 2nd free throw is shot with no one along the lane line. What situation can you ever think of where you would run the end line after a made free throw where no one is along the lane line?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2013, 10:06pm
Eschew obfuscation.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The 2nd free throw is shot with no one along the lane line. What situation can you ever think of where you would run the end line after a made free throw where no one is along the lane line?
Can you provide a rule reference either way to support either ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 07:32am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeschmit View Post
Can you provide a rule reference either way to support either ruling?
No rule, no case play that I came up with right at this moment.

A1 is shooting 1-and-1. While A1's successful first free throw is in flight A2 fouls B2 adjacent to the division line. You need to enforce A2's foul but A1 is entitled to a 2nd free throw. So, by rule, the ball is to become dead after A1's 2nd free throw, therefore you do not put anyone along the lane line. The result of that free throw no longer has any bearing on what happens to the ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 07:48am
Eschew obfuscation.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
No rule, no case play that I came up with right at this moment.

A1 is shooting 1-and-1. While A1's successful first free throw is in flight A2 fouls B2 adjacent to the division line. You need to enforce A2's foul but A1 is entitled to a 2nd free throw. So, by rule, the ball is to become dead after A1's 2nd free throw, therefore you do not put anyone along the lane line. The result of that free throw no longer has any bearing on what happens to the ball.
I'm just playing devil's advocate because I received a response from a "big dog" in NCAAW that you're supposed to put the ball on the end line after this type of play... I asked them for a rule reference but haven't heard back yet.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 08:00am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeschmit View Post
I'm just playing devil's advocate because I received a response from a "big dog" in NCAAW that you're supposed to put the ball on the end line after this type of play... I asked them for a rule reference but haven't heard back yet.
I've been fortunate to have worked a couple of games with "big dawgs" on the Men's side over the last couple years. Rules knowledge was not #1 on their resumes
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 307
The Fed has it covered, somewhat ...

7.5.7 Situation F: A1 is fouled during an unsuccessful try and is awarded two free throws. While A1's successful first free throw is in flight, A2 fouls B1 along the lane. Team B is not in the bonus. The lane is cleared for A1's second attempt. A1 then violates by having a foot through the free-throw-line plane prematurely. RULING: The free-throw violation by A1 cancels the second attempt. Since Team B is not in the bonus, it results in a designated spot throw-in from the nearest spot out of bounds from where A2's foul occurred. Team B may not move along the end line as the last free throw was unsuccessful. (9-1-3e)

The question I have, unless I'm totally missing something, is why do you need a caseplay for a basic application of the rules? Live ball, common foul, team not in bonus, ball goes to offended team for a throw-in at a spot nearest the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 11:30am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Rules knowledge was not #1 on their resumes
What is #1 on their resumes?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 07:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeschmit View Post
I'm just playing devil's advocate because I received a response from a "big dog" in NCAAW that you're supposed to put the ball on the end line after this type of play... I asked them for a rule reference but haven't heard back yet.
It would appear your "big dog" friend doesn't understand how to handle false double fouls.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 08:05pm
Eschew obfuscation.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
It would appear your "big dog" friend doesn't understand how to handle false double fouls.
I'm not saying you are wrong (I actually am on your side as well). I just want to make sure we cover all angles per the rulebook.

Let's be honest with this play...

If you were to EVER have a play like this one... you are more than likely going F1, F2 or Technical (depending on the status of the ball).

IF I ever see this play that's how I'm handling this play from here on out!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EOG sitch tref Basketball 27 Tue Nov 02, 2010 02:19pm
Help with a sitch.... SeanFitzRef Basketball 4 Sat Oct 20, 2007 03:10pm
Sitch Skahtboi Softball 27 Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:11am
Sitch whiskers_ump Softball 15 Sun Mar 19, 2006 09:37pm
Sitch 2 lrpalmer3 Basketball 62 Tue Feb 15, 2005 03:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1