View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 08:45am
BLydic BLydic is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 307
The Fed has it covered, somewhat ...

7.5.7 Situation F: A1 is fouled during an unsuccessful try and is awarded two free throws. While A1's successful first free throw is in flight, A2 fouls B1 along the lane. Team B is not in the bonus. The lane is cleared for A1's second attempt. A1 then violates by having a foot through the free-throw-line plane prematurely. RULING: The free-throw violation by A1 cancels the second attempt. Since Team B is not in the bonus, it results in a designated spot throw-in from the nearest spot out of bounds from where A2's foul occurred. Team B may not move along the end line as the last free throw was unsuccessful. (9-1-3e)

The question I have, unless I'm totally missing something, is why do you need a caseplay for a basic application of the rules? Live ball, common foul, team not in bonus, ball goes to offended team for a throw-in at a spot nearest the foul.
Reply With Quote