![]() |
|
|
|||
#2 seems like a backcourt violation to me, assuming the defender gains control before throwing the ball back court (as opposed to batting it).
#3 (99% sure) is legal. I believe the defender is allowed to make a normal landing on an stolen ball. I'm I'm incorrect, someone will cite the rule I'm sure. |
|
|||
so in case 3 what happens if the D deflects the ball first and then another defender catches it and lands in the back court. does the D have to show control before the exemption goes away?
my question from throw-ins is because i thought when a throw in was deflected the exemption to land in the back court was gone? or is that only for the inbounding and not the defending team? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
1) A1 throws a pass in the front court, B1 deflects it into the air, B2 jumps from his front court and and catches the ball landing in the A1 front court
2) A1 throws in a pass to his back court, B1 jumps and deflects it into the air, B2 Jumps from his front court and lands in his back court. 3) A1 throws in a pass into his front court, B1 deflects it and A2 jumps and catches it landing in his back court. so I believe in example 3 thats a violation as B1 touching the ball removes the exemption. the other two I am confused or perhaps all 3. |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by rekent; Mon Apr 22, 2013 at 01:04pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
If these are "during play" passes, then the first two are legal. Last edited by bob jenkins; Mon Apr 22, 2013 at 12:11pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
And, whether the "defensive exception" applied during the throw-in process was a big debate here for a couple of years until the FED clarified. It's now been 5? years since this was "settled." |
|
|||
It took me a couple times of reading this to realize you meant "throw-ins".
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Seriously, how funny would they be???? ![]() I have all three as violations since team control does not change on deflections. It's a classic case of someone jumping from their front court, catching in mid-air, and landing in their back court. The second they touch it, they have front court status and land in the back court. Violation. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Look Back Rule | Daryl H. Long | Softball | 7 | Sun Nov 27, 2011 06:08pm |
Look Back Rule | MD Longhorn | Softball | 16 | Mon May 31, 2010 09:28am |
Look Back Rule | DTQ_Blue | Softball | 4 | Sun May 06, 2007 10:11pm |
LBR [look back rule] | whiskers_ump | Softball | 2 | Sun Jan 11, 2004 12:04pm |
New look back rule (ASA) | Dakota | Softball | 6 | Fri Dec 07, 2001 12:00am |