![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Just Making Sure
We are talking about the front of the backboard, right?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A player who receives the ball, throws the ball against his own backboard, and continues to dribble the ball after it returns to the floor has not violated. I've never seen either one.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
|
Confused In Connecticut ...
NFHS: A team tries to score by shooting the ball into their own basket.
Am I right, or do I have this half-ass-backward?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Wrong. Everything you say is true if you throw it off the OPPONENT'S backboard. You've got ends of the floor confused.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Equipment ???
You may be right? Something about being allowed to use one's own "equipment"? I never did like that citation, mainly because I never really understood the rationale behind it, and how the interpretation related to the rules, as written.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
9.5 Situation ...
Quote:
Quote:
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19) 4-4-5: A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds. 4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times. It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player’s own backboard. Fundamental 19: A ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches the thrower’s backboard, it does not constitute a part of a dribble. Food for thought: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he throws the ball against his own backboard ... and catches the ball ... RULING: Legal ... a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. My question: Can he legally start a new dribble?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Apr 10, 2013 at 06:30pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Mulk |
|
|||
|
I Like The Way You Think ...
Good one.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Tuff Enuff (Fabulous Thunderbirds) ???
Anybody as tough as Jurassic Referee to tackle this one?
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Here are my answers which are based upon the definitions of player and team control.
1. As the player relinquished player control by throwing the ball off the backboard in his frontcourt, if he is able to retrieve the ball he has all rights as if he just caught a pass from a teammate. 2. Since only player and not team control ended, it would be a backcourt violation. The thrown ball does not automatically equate to a try for goal. |
|
|||
|
Thanks ...
Agree.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
I Need A Little More Convincing ...
Quote:
Now you're going to allow him to start a new dribble? I need more convincing, and remember, this was a throw, not a try. NFHS 9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: ART. 1 . A try for field goal. ART. 2 . A touch by an opponent. ART. 3 . A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player. Did the player lose control because of a try? No. Did the player lose control because of a touch by an opponent? No. Did the player lose control because of a pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player? No. So why are you allowing the player to dribble a second time?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Apr 16, 2013 at 04:12pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Pass off the backboard | PAOfficial | Basketball | 5 | Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:19pm |
| NBA - Self-pass off backboard | unstandable | Basketball | 13 | Wed Apr 21, 2004 03:19pm |
| Pass off own backboard | tjchamp | Basketball | 13 | Fri Mar 12, 2004 08:35am |
| pass off the backboard, into the backcourt | devdog69 | Basketball | 19 | Thu Apr 17, 2003 05:20pm |
| pass off the backboard | Nevadaref | Basketball | 23 | Fri Apr 11, 2003 11:18am |