The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 518
Shoot or OOB?

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer and while in the air and after the release of the ball B5 fouls A5. The ball goes in. What do we do next?

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer and while in the air and after the release of the ball B5 fouls A5. The shot is missed. What do we do next?

I dont have my rule book and wanted to get some answers as some folks are saying we shoot and others the ball is given to team A OOB.

Thanks in advance
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
The basket counts if the ball goes in. If A is in the bonus, A5 shoots FTs. Otherwise, A gets the ball out of bounds at the spot nearest the foul.

So both are right.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 04:47pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
The basket is the basket - if it goes in, count it... and either way, ignore it for purposes of the foul.

Now... you have a normal foul on B5. Administer it.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
More info

"and while in the air"

What is in the air, the ball or the shooter? If an airborne shooter is fouled, you shoot FT's. If the shooter has released the ball and returned to the floor or never left the floor, it is not a shooting foul and you administer accordingly. It being a 3-pointer has no bearing on the play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 04:58pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
"and while in the air"

What is in the air, the ball or the shooter? If an airborne shooter is fouled, you shoot FT's. If the shooter has released the ball and returned to the floor or never left the floor, it is not a shooting foul and you administer accordingly. It being a 3-pointer has no bearing on the play.
Well... given that it's A1 shooting, and it's A5 getting fouled - it's not going to be a shooting foul, is it?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Well... given that it's A1 shooting, and it's A5 getting fouled - it's not going to be a shooting foul, is it?
My mistake. I never have been good with letters and numbers combined.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 05:34pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,308
"Hank Gathers" the Ball

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
If the shooter . . . never left the floor, it is not a shooting foul . . .
This is not necessarily correct. Player can be in the act of shooting while yet "on the floor."
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 06:09pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
This is not necessarily correct. Player can be in the act of shooting while yet "on the floor."
Not after the release.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2013, 07:19pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,308
Diced and Sliced a Little Too Much

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Not after the release.
Correct. Perhaps I diced up the compound sentence too much. If the release happened, then I of course see your point. Yet I still run into some who think that prior to the release if the shooter is still on the floor it cannot be a shooting foul. That's what I was reacting to.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just shoot me now! Mark Padgett Basketball 13 Wed Feb 28, 2007 04:29pm
Just shoot me now! refnrev Basketball 2 Wed Dec 20, 2006 05:22am
Well shoot... LarryS Basketball 7 Tue Oct 03, 2006 10:08am
Shoot or not to shoot? That is the question. Cager ref 1989 Basketball 7 Fri Jan 13, 2006 09:15am
When to shoot the T Back In The Saddle Basketball 8 Sun Dec 05, 2004 06:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1