![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Thanks, JAR. If he's been using the box, he has to stay in it. If he hasn't then he can stay wherever he wants but that means he wouldn't have had coaching box privileges during that game prior to the T.
So...if he's been using the box since the start of the game, my first answer applies. If he hasn't been using the box since the start of the game, he shouldn't have been afforded any of the coaching box rights in the first place.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
||||
|
Exactly. He's only required to stay within the box if he's using it. Once he loses it, no such requirement exists. And letemplay's thought about bring in the box when rising as allowed doesn't matter, either. As even if the coach relinquishes the box by sitting outside it, he can still rise as otherwise allowed.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
b. The head coach may stand within the coaching box to request a time-out or signal his/her players to request a time-out. c. The head coach may stand and/or leave the coaching box to confer with personnel at the scorer's table to request a time-out as in 5-8-4. d. The head coach may stand within the coaching box to replace or remove a disqualified/injured player or player directed to leave the game. e. The head coach may stand as in 10-4-4c and 10-4-4d. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Agreed. If he's received a T, lost his coaching box privileges, then he can sit anywhere he wants to on the bench. No rule says he has to continue sitting within the confines of the box.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Wed Jan 16, 2013 at 11:46pm. |
|
|||
|
Twenty Players In The Book ...
So in the extreme case of a very, very, long bench, with lots, and lots, of substitutes, while seated all the way down on the endline, he can stand up to request a timeout?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Sure. Why would he not be able to, in that oddball scenario?
|
|
|||
|
yes
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Coach stands in the box. Gets whacked. Now, coach leaves the box to go sit at the end of the bench. Whack the coach again as soon as he steps out of the box on his / her way to his/her seat.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Can a Coach request an inbounds location when..... | CMHCoachNRef | Basketball | 24 | Wed Dec 21, 2011 07:21pm |
| Head coach... or not... | DesMoines | Basketball | 8 | Wed Feb 02, 2011 04:42pm |
| head coach | jpenny | Basketball | 38 | Thu Feb 21, 2008 02:23pm |
| Pitching Coach Location | Four Seam | Softball | 2 | Fri Apr 20, 2007 07:05pm |
| Head Coach | PIAA REF | Basketball | 4 | Sat Dec 17, 2005 03:13am |