![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
I was mostly trying to get the OP (and others who might be reading it) to see that s/he might have had the correct call, but for the wrong reason (at least as I read it) |
|
|||
Quote:
ART. 1 Basket interference occurs when a player: Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket. I don't think it was a violation in the OP because it had not "passed through" the rim. And I wouldn't call BI or GT for my above situation either.I don't think this is the purpose of the rule although it definitely fits the definition of BI. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
If part of the ball is above the rim, then the ball is in the basket. I'd get BI.
Suppose B1 deflects the ball upward with enough force that the ball would pass through the basket, except for B2's actions of hitting the ball back down. If the ball is just tangles with the outside of the net still 12" (or whatever) below the rim, I'd probably pass. In between, well I'd have to se eit (as a practical matter, I probobly wouldn't think fast enough to get anything). And, ... fwiw, I hate that saying. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
(Maybe the typos confused you.) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Girl's Game Sitch - Basket or No Basket | IUgrad92 | Basketball | 33 | Wed Mar 19, 2008 02:01pm |
passing to yourself | Hardwood | Basketball | 11 | Thu Nov 08, 2007 08:02pm |
Is this passing to yourself? | Gosswiller | Basketball | 2 | Sun Feb 12, 2006 01:31am |
Passing along OOB | force39 | Basketball | 2 | Mon Dec 09, 2002 05:33pm |
Passing to yourself | MOFFICIAL | Basketball | 2 | Tue Aug 01, 2000 09:32am |