The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2013, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
Last night, VB, 3-man crew, I was observing:
Rebounding action and ball is batted upward into the net, and a hand of the player is in contact with the ball, but the ball does not pass through the basket, does not go above the rim. Trail comes in and callls a violation for causing the ball to enter the basket from below.
We discussed it after the game and my understanding of 9-4 is that it should have been a no-call, as the ball didnot pass al the way through the basket.

I also felt that it could not be basket interference, because the ball had not entered the basket from above.

Comments?
Does BI require the ball to enter the basket from above?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2013, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Does BI require the ball to enter the basket from above?
It seems to me that it would have to be a valid shot attempt, (the ball entering from above,) for there to be BI. Thoughts?
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2013, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
It seems to me that it would have to be a valid shot attempt,
See case 9.11.2 for an example of BI without a try.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2013, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
See case 9.11.2 for an example of BI without a try.
"the ball is above the level of the basket and is partly in the cylinder..." so, it could fall thru the basket, if not interfered. But that was a secondary discussion of the play, last night.
The call by the Trail, last night was for entering the basket from below, and the issue is the wording of 9-4, "enter and pass through". I thought it should be a no-call, and play on, and I told my friend that I'd get some erudite opinions from Forum Members this morning.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2013, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
"the ball is above the level of the basket and is partly in the cylinder..." so, it could fall thru the basket, if not interfered. But that was a secondary discussion of the play, last night.
The call by the Trail, last night was for entering the basket from below, and the issue is the wording of 9-4, "enter and pass through". I thought it should be a no-call, and play on, and I told my friend that I'd get some erudite opinions from Forum Members this morning.
If you're asking about the "entering and passing through" violation, I agree -- no violtion.

If you're asking about BI, then I'm just thinking out loud, and inviting you (and others) to do the same.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2013, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Thanks, Bob.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2013, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If you're asking about the "entering and passing through" violation, I agree -- no violtion.

If you're asking about BI, then I'm just thinking out loud, and inviting you (and others) to do the same.
So, it's basket interference to touch the ball or basket including the net while the ball is on or within either basket. So, possibly, the ball in the OP has entered the basket from below at which point the player has committed BI.

Presumably, to be within the basket, the ball would have to be either inside the diameter of the net (as opposed to the net being displaced but resting on top of the ball) or break the plain of the rim. Getting the ball inside the net from below without entering the rim first seems difficult to the point of being able to disregard it. So I'm inclined to think BI in the OP wouldn't occur until and unless the ball entered the rim.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2013, 11:13am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
I am inclined to think we have no BI. Also no violation as the ball did not go all the way through the basket according to 9-4.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Girl's Game Sitch - Basket or No Basket IUgrad92 Basketball 33 Wed Mar 19, 2008 02:01pm
passing to yourself Hardwood Basketball 11 Thu Nov 08, 2007 08:02pm
Is this passing to yourself? Gosswiller Basketball 2 Sun Feb 12, 2006 01:31am
Passing along OOB force39 Basketball 2 Mon Dec 09, 2002 05:33pm
Passing to yourself MOFFICIAL Basketball 2 Tue Aug 01, 2000 09:32am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1