![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Who You Gonna Call ???
![]() If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds. It is a violation for a player to intentionally leave the court for an unauthorized reason.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Something in and nothing out
Would this also apply to: A1 has advanced the ball into his frontcourt and turns to pass to A2 just coming across midcourt line. When he touches ball, A2 has one foot down in the frontcourt, nothing in backcourt. Is this considered position (FC) established?
|
|
|||
|
Was I Right ???
You are where you are until you get where you're going.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
100% of the time, the player gets where he was going. The question is ... was where we was going where he intended to go?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Why wouldn't it be? Has someone locally told you something that would make you doubt this?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Do you really think that somewhere is rule 4-35 it makes reference to "clearly down"?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Ow, My Ears Hurt!!!
"Letemplay", please understand I don't mean to dis you with what I'm about to say, only use part of your post to make a point.
"That is how I would rule it, but have seen others say . . ." This phraseology is the bane of officiating. ![]() I hear this at a rules meeting and I outspokenly rebel vociferously without restraint in a near-out-of-control manner. There. Vent over. I feel only slightly better.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
|
These others you see... ask them to return to officiating football, where their notions are correct.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
In the NBA, a player may NOT be the first to touch the ball after going out of bounds if they are dribbling the ball or if they save the ball by controlling (throwing) it. If the player saves the ball by batting it, they MAY be the first to touch the ball.
That may be source of confusion for some officials and definitely a case where fans will think we rule a play incorrectly (much like a backcourt call with a defensive deflection even with the offense being the last to touch and first to touch).
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 1st to touch | Ch1town | Basketball | 9 | Tue May 26, 2009 07:36pm |
| Ref60 : 60s of Officiating : Last to Touch ... First to Touch | JugglingReferee | Basketball | 8 | Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:13pm |
| First to touch | ripcord51 | Basketball | 6 | Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:25pm |
| First to touch | RefTip | Basketball | 12 | Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:26am |
| Can't be the first one to touch it? | dub3 | Basketball | 18 | Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:14am |