The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 249
If his momentum is what took him OOB and he did not voluntarily go out or gain an advantage by delaying his return to the court, yes he can be the first to touch.

Look at casebook 7.1.1 (or just look at the conversation here where it has already been discussed and Nevadaref so kindly posted the case).

Last edited by rekent; Sat Jan 05, 2013 at 07:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern West Virginia
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post
If his momentum is what took him OOB and he did not voluntarily go out or gain an advantage by delaying his return to the court, yes he can be the first to touch.

Look at casebook 7.1.1 (or just look at the conversation here where it has already been discussed and Nevadaref so kindly posted the case).
thank you so much, that is exactly what I needed.

I just became a millionare! (I will not get paid of course)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 08:30pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigda65 View Post
thank you so much, that is exactly what I needed.

I just became a millionare! (I will not get paid of course)
Who did you bet and what are your backgrounds? Coaches, fans officials etc?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 09:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern West Virginia
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Who did you bet and what are your backgrounds? Coaches, fans officials etc?
I coach youth ball, Ref rec games, mostly umpire baseball. I bet the referee (he is a good friend).

My kid threw the ball inbounds, and went through my other players hands, He chased it to the sideline and knocked it back inbounds, he stepped back on the court and started dribbling. He blew the whistle and called oob. I asked why, he said you couldnt do that, so I bet him a million that he could.

all friendly, no words as I said he is a good friend, and I thought a pretty good official.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 09:16pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Did it actually hit "the other player's hands?"
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern West Virginia
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Did it actually hit "the other player's hands?"
yes, actually through the hands, then the side of the head.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 10:08pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigda65 View Post
yes, actually through the hands, then the side of the head.
Ouch. He wouldn't be the first good official to misunderstand this particular rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2013, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigda65 View Post
I coach youth ball, Ref rec games, mostly umpire baseball. I bet the referee (he is a good friend).

My kid threw the ball inbounds, and went through my other players hands, He chased it to the sideline and knocked it back inbounds, he stepped back on the court and started dribbling. He blew the whistle and called oob. I asked why, he said you couldnt do that, so I bet him a million that he could.

all friendly, no words as I said he is a good friend, and I thought a pretty good official.
I have a questions. When he came back onto the court was the ball bouncing and did he start dribbling. Or did he pick up the ball and start a dribble? If he picked up the ball and started to dribble it is an illegal dribble not an OB violation.
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2013, 11:41am
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Huh?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
I have a questions. When he came back onto the court was the ball bouncing and did he start dribbling. Or did he pick up the ball and start a dribble? If he picked up the ball and started to dribble it is an illegal dribble not an OB violation.


I have a questions on your questions.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2013, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post


I have a questions on your questions.
Why is it an illegal dribble? He had not previously dribbled and it had been touched by another player.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2013, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
I have a questions. When he came back onto the court was the ball bouncing and did he start dribbling. Or did he pick up the ball and start a dribble? If he picked up the ball and started to dribble it is an illegal dribble not an OB violation.
Depends on what the OP meant by "knocked it back inbounds".

Most of the time (in my experience) that's not a dribble. So, gathering the ball (after the player comes inbounds) is not ending the dribble. So the "next" dribble is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2013, 09:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern West Virginia
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
I have a questions. When he came back onto the court was the ball bouncing and did he start dribbling. Or did he pick up the ball and start a dribble? If he picked up the ball and started to dribble it is an illegal dribble not an OB violation.
He batted the ball back inbounds with one hand.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2013, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern West Virginia
Posts: 146
Question

It gets a little better today.

He called me today and left me a voicemail : He believes that since his momementum didnt carry him out of bounds, that the right call was OOB.

I asked him two questions in an email that I havent heard back from him yet.

1) In that situation, what advantage was gained when he left the court and then returned?

2) A nine year old kid chasing a loose ball toward the line, does not constitute momentum?

I could give two hoots in georgia about the bet, this has happened two weeks in a row and 4 different officials missed this, I just want them to get it right.

What other questions can I ask that can shed the light? help me out fellas!

If he believes that he left the court on purpose, should that be a warning or a technical? I believe beyond a shadow of a doubt that it should never be an OOB call, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 08:37pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post
If his momentum is what took him OOB and he did not voluntarily go out or gain an advantage by delaying his return to the court, yes he can be the first to touch.

Look at casebook 7.1.1 (or just look at the conversation here where it has already been discussed and Nevadaref so kindly posted the case).
There is no situation in high school where it is a violation to be the first to touch the ball (other than the thrower on a throw in pass.)
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 08:51pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post
If his momentum is what took him OOB and he did not voluntarily go out or gain an advantage by delaying his return to the court, yes he can be the first to touch.

Just to clarify: Going out voluntarily and delaying his return have nothing to do with touching the ball. These are infractions whether he touches the ball afterward or not. He can't touch the ball because it will already be dead.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove

Last edited by just another ref; Sat Jan 05, 2013 at 09:28pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1st to touch Ch1town Basketball 9 Tue May 26, 2009 07:36pm
Ref60 : 60s of Officiating : Last to Touch ... First to Touch JugglingReferee Basketball 8 Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:13pm
First to touch ripcord51 Basketball 6 Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:25pm
First to touch RefTip Basketball 12 Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:26am
Can't be the first one to touch it? dub3 Basketball 18 Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:14am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1