The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 09:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Just to clarify: Going out voluntarily or delaying his return have nothing to do with touching the ball. These are infractions whether he touches the ball afterward or not. He can't touch the ball because it will already be dead.
While they do not have to do specifically with "touching the ball," they are still an aspect of the overall situation that must be looked at if/when this play takes place. Even the case play explicitly mentions the voluntary aspect. My memory is failing me at the moment though, what is the rule reference on the delayed return back inbounds infraction?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 09:32pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post
While they do not have to do specifically with "touching the ball," they are still an aspect of the overall situation that must be looked at if/when this play takes place. Even the case play explicitly mentions the voluntary aspect. My memory is failing me at the moment though, what is the rule reference on the delayed return back inbounds infraction?
10-3-2: A player shall not purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning after being legally out of bounds.

technical foul
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
10-3-2: A player shall not purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning after being legally out of bounds.

technical foul
Thanks, was drawing a blank and seemed to keep looking right past it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 11:28pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post
While they do not have


to do specifically with "touching the ball," they are still an aspect of the overall situation that must be looked at if/when this play takes place. Even the case play explicitly mentions the voluntary aspect. My memory is failing me at the moment though, what is the rule reference on the delayed return back inbounds infraction?
That concerns throw-ins, not this situation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 11:42pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
That concerns throw-ins, not this situation.
10-3-2 does not distinguish between the thrower-in and any other player who is legally out of bounds.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2013, 11:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
That concerns throw-ins, not this situation.
Case 7.1.1 B is the one I was talking about, and it is not throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2013, 01:14pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,376
Who You Gonna Call ???



If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds. It is a violation for a player to intentionally leave the court for an unauthorized reason.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2013, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Something in and nothing out

Would this also apply to: A1 has advanced the ball into his frontcourt and turns to pass to A2 just coming across midcourt line. When he touches ball, A2 has one foot down in the frontcourt, nothing in backcourt. Is this considered position (FC) established?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2013, 09:54am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Would this also apply to: A1 has advanced the ball into his frontcourt and turns to pass to A2 just coming across midcourt line. When he touches ball, A2 has one foot down in the frontcourt, nothing in backcourt. Is this considered position (FC) established?
Look up player location.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2013, 01:28pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,376
Was I Right ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Look up player location.
You are where you are until you get where you're going.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2013, 09:59am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Would this also apply to: A1 has advanced the ball into his frontcourt and turns to pass to A2 just coming across midcourt line. When he touches ball, A2 has one foot down in the frontcourt, nothing in backcourt. Is this considered position (FC) established?
Why wouldn't it be? Has someone locally told you something that would make you doubt this?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2013, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
That is how I would rule it, but have seen others say both feet needed to be clearly down before touching.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1st to touch Ch1town Basketball 9 Tue May 26, 2009 07:36pm
Ref60 : 60s of Officiating : Last to Touch ... First to Touch JugglingReferee Basketball 8 Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:13pm
First to touch ripcord51 Basketball 6 Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:25pm
First to touch RefTip Basketball 12 Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:26am
Can't be the first one to touch it? dub3 Basketball 18 Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:14am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1