The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 02:18am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Indirect TFs roll over to AC?

Say 5 players leave the bench and participate in a fight. That would equal 5 indirect TF to the head coach. Well he only needs three to be ejected. Do the other two roll over to an AC or are they just considerd part of the HC's penalty and forgotten about? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 02:21am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
2-3 The referee shall make the decision on points not specifically covered in the rules.


Without looking, I'm pretty sure this is not covered in the rules.

I'm the referee and I say the AC is not a part of this fiasco.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 02:24am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
No...I'd say the head coach isn't ejected until he's been notified. He eats all 5 of the indirect technical fouls
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 02:31am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Even if something else happens after the ejection of the head coach, I see nothing in the rules about anybody else becoming the head coach. Therefore, I see no provision for charging an indirect to anyone after the ejection.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 03:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Even if something else happens after the ejection of the head coach, I see nothing in the rules about anybody else becoming the head coach. Therefore, I see no provision for charging an indirect to anyone after the ejection.
Really?

Then is no one in charge of and responsible for the behavior of the bench? Does no one get to decide who long a timeout is to be (30 vs 60)? Who has to replace a DQ'd player before the 20 second timer runs out?

There is always a head coach. If the original head coach is ejected, someone else must fill the spot. Whoever that is gets all of the rights and responsibilities of that spot for the remainder of the game...noting that the rights of that spot no longer include the coaching box.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 03:40am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post

Then is no one in charge of and responsible for the behavior of the bench? Does no one get to decide who long a timeout is to be (30 vs 60)? Who has to replace a DQ'd player before the 20 second timer runs out?

There is always a head coach. If the original head coach is ejected, someone else must fill the spot. Whoever that is gets all of the rights and responsibilities of that spot for the remainder of the game...noting that the rights of that spot no longer include the coaching box.

What you're saying is all the way that things are. But where is this found in the rules? Is it stated anywhere that anyone becomes "the head coach" or acts as "the head coach" as opposed to taking over for the now departed head coach? I agree that whoever takes over doesn't get a coaching box, but I've never read that anywhere except here, have I? As for indirects charged to somebody else after an ejection, I can honestly say it has never even crossed my mind, but I'm fairly certain it is not in the books anywhere, either. As a rule, we treat ACs as non-people, so if upon being thrust into the spotlight through none of his own doing, he has no possibility of inheriting all the HC privileges, I'm not sure it's fair to give him all the HC penalties.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
roll over traveling phansen Basketball 22 Mon Mar 07, 2011 06:52am
Roll over = travel bainsey Basketball 65 Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:08pm
roll me over in the clover MRD Football 3 Sat Sep 09, 2006 01:16pm
Drum roll please! BktBallRef Basketball 25 Wed Jan 07, 2004 11:00am
Roll In's Ref Daddy Basketball 6 Mon Oct 21, 2002 08:09am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1