![]() |
|
|||
Indirect TFs roll over to AC?
Say 5 players leave the bench and participate in a fight. That would equal 5 indirect TF to the head coach. Well he only needs three to be ejected. Do the other two roll over to an AC or are they just considerd part of the HC's penalty and forgotten about? Thanks.
|
|
|||
2-3 The referee shall make the decision on points not specifically covered in the rules.
Without looking, I'm pretty sure this is not covered in the rules. I'm the referee and I say the AC is not a part of this fiasco.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
No...I'd say the head coach isn't ejected until he's been notified. He eats all 5 of the indirect technical fouls
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Even if something else happens after the ejection of the head coach, I see nothing in the rules about anybody else becoming the head coach. Therefore, I see no provision for charging an indirect to anyone after the ejection.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Then is no one in charge of and responsible for the behavior of the bench? Does no one get to decide who long a timeout is to be (30 vs 60)? Who has to replace a DQ'd player before the 20 second timer runs out? There is always a head coach. If the original head coach is ejected, someone else must fill the spot. Whoever that is gets all of the rights and responsibilities of that spot for the remainder of the game...noting that the rights of that spot no longer include the coaching box.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
What you're saying is all the way that things are. But where is this found in the rules? Is it stated anywhere that anyone becomes "the head coach" or acts as "the head coach" as opposed to taking over for the now departed head coach? I agree that whoever takes over doesn't get a coaching box, but I've never read that anywhere except here, have I? As for indirects charged to somebody else after an ejection, I can honestly say it has never even crossed my mind, but I'm fairly certain it is not in the books anywhere, either. As a rule, we treat ACs as non-people, so if upon being thrust into the spotlight through none of his own doing, he has no possibility of inheriting all the HC privileges, I'm not sure it's fair to give him all the HC penalties.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Dec 16, 2012 at 05:33am. |
|
|||
That is a very good point. I'm just gonna let this one drop. Since this has never come up before in 27 years, I'm thinking there's a good chance it never will, for me at least.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Where NFHS is silent state associations sometimes fill in the gap. One state provides this direction in their Officials' Manual: COACH EJECTED According to MHSAA regulations, if a coach is ejected from a contest and an assistant coach or an assigned school representative is not available to continue as coach, the event is terminated and forfeited to the opponent (MHSAA Regulation V, Section 3(B)).
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
Fire Up The Flux Capacitor ...
This (assistant becoming "head" coach) has been discussed on the Forum before. I can't find it, but that doesn't mean that it wasn't discussed.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Yeah, I also remember that discussion. I think we agreed that if the HC is ejected, Diebler takes over.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
roll over traveling | phansen | Basketball | 22 | Mon Mar 07, 2011 06:52am |
Roll over = travel | bainsey | Basketball | 65 | Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:08pm |
roll me over in the clover | MRD | Football | 3 | Sat Sep 09, 2006 01:16pm |
Drum roll please! | BktBallRef | Basketball | 25 | Wed Jan 07, 2004 11:00am |
Roll In's | Ref Daddy | Basketball | 6 | Mon Oct 21, 2002 08:09am |