The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 12:20am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,732
Throw in play

Team A down 2. Inbounds pass is rolled on the floor. When does 5 second count stop.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 12:21am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
on the release

4-42-4
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 12:22am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
on the release
When does the ten second count start?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 12:24am
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
When does the ten second count start?
On A's legal touching of the rolled throw-in ball (provided the touching occurs in A's backcourt).
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 12:25am
I got a Basketball Jones!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hunger
Posts: 919
When do you call the OOB violation when they roll the ball over the endline?
__________________
Lah me..
(In honor of Jurassic Ref, R.I.P.)

Last edited by justacoach; Sun Dec 16, 2012 at 12:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 12:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marshall, MI
Posts: 375
No.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 12:36am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
This would be one of the loose ends left by the change in the team control during a throw-in thing, but I believe the ten second count should not start until the ball is controlled by a player in the backcourt.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 12:39am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
hen do you call the OOB violation when they roll the ball over the endline?
If the ball is placed on the floor and rolled, it is a violation, but a throw-in violation, not an OOB violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 12:40am
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
On A's legal touching of the rolled throw-in ball (provided the touching occurs in A's backcourt).
Starts when there's player control in the backcourt when a player comes from a throw-in. All rules pertaining to a 10 second count, 3 second count, and backcourt violations are adjudicated the exact same way as before team control was added to the throw-in.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 12:41am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 963
What's wrong with this play?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
On A's legal touching of the rolled throw-in ball (provided the touching occurs in A's backcourt).

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 12:46am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
A good example of one of those totally unexpected "I can't believe he did that" plays and how easy one may be to miss, no matter how obvious it may seem afterward.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 12:48am
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
I posted this play earlier in the year. The thrower cannot be the first person to touch the ball after the throw-in is released.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 12:48am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
On A's legal touching of the rolled throw-in ball (provided the touching occurs in A's backcourt).
I start after pc is established.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 01:12am
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Starts when there's player control in the backcourt when a player comes from a throw-in. All rules pertaining to a 10 second count, 3 second count, and backcourt violations are adjudicated the exact same way as before team control was added to the throw-in.
Oh yeah. The HS rule still needs rewriting for that.

Does that mean, for NCAA-M, in that the old "B deflects A1's front court pass to A2 into A's backcourt" play, that the 10-second court shouldn't start until there's player control established again by A? That's how that rule reads, to me. Just curious.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 01:35am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,732
4-42-4 say the throw in count stops on the release of the throw in pass. 10 second count wont start until touched by A. Correct?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in play MJT Basketball 2 Fri Dec 07, 2012 02:49am
Norfolk State v. Missouri Throw-In Play (10.0 Seconds Left) APG Basketball 17 Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:39am
Resumption of play/free throw jTheUmp Basketball 6 Tue Nov 15, 2011 09:15am
High SchoolFree Throw Violations Play Ruling refdave Basketball 7 Mon Dec 06, 2010 06:25pm
Free Throw - Resumption of Play BLS Basketball 32 Fri Nov 07, 2008 09:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1