![]() |
|
|
|||
Starts when there's player control in the backcourt when a player comes from a throw-in. All rules pertaining to a 10 second count, 3 second count, and backcourt violations are adjudicated the exact same way as before team control was added to the throw-in.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
Does that mean, for NCAA-M, in that the old "B deflects A1's front court pass to A2 into A's backcourt" play, that the 10-second court shouldn't start until there's player control established again by A? That's how that rule reads, to me. Just curious.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
I wasn't asking about 10 second count. I am asking when does the five second throw in count stop. 4-42-4 says the count ends when the ball is released by the thrower and goes directly into the court. So if A1 rolls the ball into the court, not over he OOB line, the five second count ends, when it leaves the throwers hands.
|
|
|||
Quote:
The answer is no. If the release is legal the count ends. If the release is not legal, the count ends anyway on the violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
That's what I'm answering...a 10 second count (nor a 3 second count or any backcourt violation provisions) won't start until player control has been established.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Got it. Thanks, I meant controlled when I typed touched. My bad.
|
|
|||
Quote:
The other plays discussed where player control is mentioned in the backcourt are different because the ball was coming from a throwin, not from a pass between inbounds players.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
|
|||
I believe that is in context of a throw in....that the 10 count doesn't start until there is player control. There doesn't have to be player control to have the count if the ball is already inbounds.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw in play | MJT | Basketball | 2 | Fri Dec 07, 2012 02:49am |
Norfolk State v. Missouri Throw-In Play (10.0 Seconds Left) | APG | Basketball | 17 | Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:39am |
Resumption of play/free throw | jTheUmp | Basketball | 6 | Tue Nov 15, 2011 09:15am |
High SchoolFree Throw Violations Play Ruling | refdave | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 06, 2010 06:25pm |
Free Throw - Resumption of Play | BLS | Basketball | 32 | Fri Nov 07, 2008 09:29pm |