The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Starting count on inbounds (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92930-starting-count-inbounds.html)

JWP Thu Nov 15, 2012 04:55pm

Starting count on inbounds
 
I've had an issue regarding when to start the count on an inbound after a made basket, and I am getting some conflicting advice from other refs. I did a quick glance at the rule book, but couldn't find a specific rule. Have not had a chance to look at the case book. My apologies if it is there.

Team A scores a basket. B-1 then grabs the basketball, but does not step out of bounds to throw it in. She doesn't do anything but stand there, under the basket, looking serene, as if she had found a rare flower. After 2 or 3 seconds, I start my count.

About that time, B-2 walks over, with no urgency whatsoever, takes the ball out of bounds. At this point, I am at 2 or 3 in my count, and the coach is going nuts because I am counting.

This has happened several times with the same team. Once I got up to five and called a violation. Another time, coach calls time out. Most of the time, there isn't pressure, so there is no problem. Last night, with the game out of hand, I was telling her "Get out of bounds, get out of bounds."

(Coach also got mad when I started a count when all five of his players ran down court without inbounding the ball. I have no issue with this one; his team was in the lead and the clock was running. Inbounding team was gaining an advantage).

Am I missing something? Wouldn't be the first time.

Sco53 Thu Nov 15, 2012 05:06pm

4-4-7 A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:
a. Handed to a thrower or the free thrower
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her
c. Placed on the floor at a spot
d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the
throw-in count

bob jenkins Thu Nov 15, 2012 05:10pm

If the team has the ball OOB or *reasonably could have* the ball OOB, start the count.

It sounds to me like you're doing it correctly, but you caould have someone in your area watch (or ask if others have had issues with the same team)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Nov 15, 2012 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JWP (Post 862321)
I've had an issue regarding when to start the count on an inbound after a made basket, and I am getting some conflicting advice from other refs. I did a quick glance at the rule book, but couldn't find a specific rule. Have not had a chance to look at the case book. My apologies if it is there.

Team A scores a basket. B-1 then grabs the basketball, but does not step out of bounds to throw it in. She doesn't do anything but stand there, under the basket, looking serene, as if she had found a rare flower. After 2 or 3 seconds, I start my count.

About that time, B-2 walks over, with no urgency whatsoever, takes the ball out of bounds. At this point, I am at 2 or 3 in my count, and the coach is going nuts because I am counting.

This has happened several times with the same team. Once I got up to five and called a violation. Another time, coach calls time out. Most of the time, there isn't pressure, so there is no problem. Last night, with the game out of hand, I was telling her "Get out of bounds, get out of bounds."

(Coach also got mad when I started a count when all five of his players ran down court without inbounding the ball. I have no issue with this one; his team was in the lead and the clock was running. Inbounding team was gaining an advantage).

Am I missing something? Wouldn't be the first time.


Both the NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA Rules state that the count starts when the ball is "at the disposal" of the team entitled to the throw-in. Normally, after a made or goal or free throw, "at the disposal" means when a player from the team entitled to the throw-in steps out of bounds with the ball, but that presumes that B1 takes the ball out of bounds immediately after gaining possession of the ball after it has gone through the basket.

But in your play B1 decided to not take the ball immediately out of bounds after gaining possession of the ball. You were correct in taking one or two seconds to asses the situation and then correctly started your count while she was still standing inbounds while in possession of the ball.

As far as "howler monkey B" also known as B-HC, pay no attention to him because he doesn't know the rules and you do.

MTD, Sr.

Adam Thu Nov 15, 2012 06:55pm

I would have started it right about the time you did, in each situation you described.

Also, if B1 slaps the ball OOB to where B2 has to chase it, I'm inclined to start about when I judge B2 would have gathered it without B1's interference.

Curiously, what sort of conflicting advice are you getting?

Camron Rust Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:37am

I agree with all of the above, you're handling it correctly.

Raymond Fri Nov 16, 2012 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JWP (Post 862321)
I've had an issue regarding when to start the count on <s>an inbound</s> a throw-in after a made basket....

For future reference and ease of conversation :)

BillyMac Sat Nov 17, 2012 02:50pm

Looping Logic ...
 
Would one have granted the opposing team a timeout? If no, then start counting. If yes, then don't start counting.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1