View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 05:20pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWP View Post
I've had an issue regarding when to start the count on an inbound after a made basket, and I am getting some conflicting advice from other refs. I did a quick glance at the rule book, but couldn't find a specific rule. Have not had a chance to look at the case book. My apologies if it is there.

Team A scores a basket. B-1 then grabs the basketball, but does not step out of bounds to throw it in. She doesn't do anything but stand there, under the basket, looking serene, as if she had found a rare flower. After 2 or 3 seconds, I start my count.

About that time, B-2 walks over, with no urgency whatsoever, takes the ball out of bounds. At this point, I am at 2 or 3 in my count, and the coach is going nuts because I am counting.

This has happened several times with the same team. Once I got up to five and called a violation. Another time, coach calls time out. Most of the time, there isn't pressure, so there is no problem. Last night, with the game out of hand, I was telling her "Get out of bounds, get out of bounds."

(Coach also got mad when I started a count when all five of his players ran down court without inbounding the ball. I have no issue with this one; his team was in the lead and the clock was running. Inbounding team was gaining an advantage).

Am I missing something? Wouldn't be the first time.

Both the NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA Rules state that the count starts when the ball is "at the disposal" of the team entitled to the throw-in. Normally, after a made or goal or free throw, "at the disposal" means when a player from the team entitled to the throw-in steps out of bounds with the ball, but that presumes that B1 takes the ball out of bounds immediately after gaining possession of the ball after it has gone through the basket.

But in your play B1 decided to not take the ball immediately out of bounds after gaining possession of the ball. You were correct in taking one or two seconds to asses the situation and then correctly started your count while she was still standing inbounds while in possession of the ball.

As far as "howler monkey B" also known as B-HC, pay no attention to him because he doesn't know the rules and you do.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote