The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 07:32pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
This silly question got me thinking.

At first, I was thinking, if A-1 hits B's rim, and caught the "rebound," that's not a dribble. Further inspection of 4-15-1 tells me otherwise.

So, if A-2 purposely throws the ball against A's backboard, runs and catches it, then starts a dribble, that's legal, per 4-15-1. ("It is not part of a dribble when the ball touches the player's own backboard.") However, if A-2 purposely throws the ball against A's rim (NOT the backboard), catches it (yes, I know, very difficult), and starts a dribble, wouldn't that be illegal by rule? Or, is there a case that says it's all part of a try for goal?
A player throws the ball at his basket and it hits the rim. It's a try. Move on and don't consider anything else.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
does hitting the rim change anything ?
Assuming you mean "hitting only the rim", then yes.

It changes from a dribbling violation to a travelling violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 02:12pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
And, it should be a violation to embed something that starts with an ad.
OOB violation?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 08:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
4.15.1 SITUATION C:

A1 attempts a pass to A2 during pressing action in A's backcourt. The ball hits B's backboard and deflects directly back to A1 who catches the ball and: (a) passes the ball to A2; or (b) starts a dribble.

RULING: The pass against B's backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball. In (a), the pass is legal action. In (b), it is a violation for a second dribble. (4-4-5; 9-5)
I think 4.15.4 SITUATION C applies better in this case, it's not really a "pass."

After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball: (a) against the opponent’s backboard and catches the rebound;
RULING: A1 has violated in (a). Throwing the ball against the opponent’s backboard constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the board.

Edit: I also like the fact the shot clock operator had enough sense not to reset it here every shot.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 10:13pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
As has been noted, subtly, already, the thread title is misleading.

A's basket is the one in which they attempt to score.

This isn't soccre.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 18, 2012, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 49
I don't have a violation here because the ball hit the ring on every shot attempt (as far as I can judge from the video). Hence it is not a double dribble violation (at least under FIBA rules, which I guess apply to this video).
__________________
Dutch basketball ref
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 18, 2012, 11:34am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeroenB View Post
I don't have a violation here because the ball hit the ring on every shot attempt (as far as I can judge from the video). Hence it is not a double dribble violation (at least under FIBA rules, which I guess apply to this video).
1. I believe in fiba, it's a violation to shoot at the wrong basket in the first place.

Second, if it only hits the rim, did he really not move his pivot foot throughout all those attempts? Did all that take less than ten seconds?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 18, 2012, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
1. I believe in fiba, it's a violation to shoot at the wrong basket in the first place.

Second, if it only hits the rim, did he really not move his pivot foot throughout all those attempts? Did all that take less than ten seconds?
1. It's not a violation to shoot at the wrong basket in FIBA, it's only a violation to deliberately score at the wrong basket.

2. It doesn't matter if it ONLY hits the rim or also the backboard, as long as it hits the ring the player is allowed to dribble again.

3. I was only referring to double dribble violations as I thought that was what the discussion was about. He did indeed move his pivot foot on the last attempt. Also I have an eight second violation (as in eight seconds to get the ball in the frontcourt, I assume that's what you ment with ten seconds, which I think is the rule in highschool/college basketball?), but not until the other player rebounds the ball and dribbles it towards the frontcourt.
__________________
Dutch basketball ref
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 18, 2012, 01:04pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeroenB View Post
I don't have a violation here because the ball hit the ring on every shot attempt (as far as I can judge from the video). Hence it is not a double dribble violation (at least under FIBA rules, which I guess apply to this video).
Under FIBA rules would this be deemed not a shot attempt?

15.1.1 A shot for a field goal or a free throw is when the ball is held in a player’s hand(s) and is then thrown into the air towards the opponents' basket.

24.1.2 A dribble starts when a player, having gained control of a live ball on the playing court, throws, taps, rolls, dribbles it on the floor or deliberately throws it against the backboard and touches it again before it touches another player.

A dribble ends when the player touches the ball with both hands simultaneously or permits the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.

24.1.4 The following are not dribbles:
• Successive shots for a field goal.

From reading that, I would come to the conclusion that it would be an illegal dribble. What am I missing?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Sun Nov 18, 2012 at 01:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 18, 2012, 08:26pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
New Obsevation of This Play

I put this clip out to various members of our association as an email discussion item, challenging them to determine what the official did wrong on this play.
#1 - Most popular response: OFFICIAL DID NOT HAVE A BACKCOURT TEN SECOND COUNT.
#2 - Second most popular response: DRIBBLING VIOLATION (ala Casebook 4.15...) BY REBOUNDER FOR REPEATED CONTACT WITH OPPONENTS' BACKBOARD.
#3 - Then this response trumped them all. (And I don't think it was mentioned in this thread, was it?): VIOLATION BY NON-LANE PLAYER WHO CROSSED THE THREE-POINT ARC BEFORE THE FREE THROW MADE CONTACT WITH THE BASKET OR BACKBOARD, WHICH SHOULD HAVE BEEN CALLED A DELAYED VIOLATION, RESULTING IN A SUBSTITUTE FREE THROW.

Turns out that original violater was the hapless rebounder.

#3 violation, if properly called, would have made officiating errors #2 and #1 irrelevant.

How could I have missed that??????????
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call

Last edited by Freddy; Sun Nov 18, 2012 at 08:50pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Under FIBA rules would this be deemed not a shot attempt?

15.1.1 A shot for a field goal or a free throw is when the ball is held in a player’s hand(s) and is then thrown into the air towards the opponents' basket.

24.1.2 A dribble starts when a player, having gained control of a live ball on the playing court, throws, taps, rolls, dribbles it on the floor or deliberately throws it against the backboard and touches it again before it touches another player.

A dribble ends when the player touches the ball with both hands simultaneously or permits the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.

24.1.4 The following are not dribbles:
• Successive shots for a field goal.

From reading that, I would come to the conclusion that it would be an illegal dribble. What am I missing?
According to the FIBA Interpretations 2012, Art. 24, Statement 1, it is considered a dribble when "a player deliberately throws the ball against a backboard (not attempting a legitimate shot for a field goal)".

Based on 15.1.1 you could indeed very well argue that the attempts in the video are not legitimate shots because they are directed at his own basket. However, since this player obviously believes the basket to be its' opponents basket and his intent is to score (after all, if he made the basket it would still count as under FIBA Interpretations Art. 9, Statement 2, Example 2) and not to gain an unfair advantage by passing the ball to himself, I would call it a legimitate attempt to score and therefor not a violation.
__________________
Dutch basketball ref

Last edited by JeroenB; Mon Nov 19, 2012 at 11:33am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NHSF "intentional" vs NCAA "flagarent" terminology Duffman Basketball 17 Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:15pm
Is "the patient whistle" and "possession consequence" ruining the game? fiasco Basketball 46 Fri Dec 02, 2011 08:43am
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight pizanno Basketball 27 Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am
Overtime Situation, Shooting at "Wrong" Basket rgncjn Basketball 4 Sat Jan 20, 2007 11:52am
fouled while "shooting" at wrong basket A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 15 Sun Apr 30, 2006 01:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1