The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
"Shooting" at own basket

How many would have called this a violation (0:19-0:46)?



Until I started thinking about it, I would not have called this a violation.

4.15.1 SITUATION C:

A1 attempts a pass to A2 during pressing action in A's backcourt. The ball hits B's backboard and deflects directly back to A1 who catches the ball and: (a) passes the ball to A2; or (b) starts a dribble.

RULING: The pass against B's backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball. In (a), the pass is legal action. In (b), it is a violation for a second dribble. (4-4-5; 9-5)

Therefore, the second time the player shoots the ball and then catches it, we have an illegal dribble violation

Food for thought...

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
How many would have called this a violation (0:19-0:46)?
All of us, I hope.

And, it should be a violation to embed something that starts with an ad.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 02:02pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,261
Weird ...

Just think of this player as "dribbling" off the court floor when he "dribbles" off the backboard. Also remember that this is not a try. Do I have this right?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
does hitting the rim change anything ?
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 02:12pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
And, it should be a violation to embed something that starts with an ad.
OOB violation?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 02:41pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Just think of this player as "dribbling" off the court floor when he "dribbles" off the backboard. Also remember that this is not a try. Do I have this right?
You don't know? Or is this your serendipitous way of engaging new officials?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 02:59pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,261
This Time, No ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
You don't know? Or is this your serendipitous way of engaging new officials?
I think that I know, just want to be sure. And no, this is not a rhetorical question for the benefit of newbies.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 03:01pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Made this call this year in a ms girls game.

A1 gets the ball in her bc and dribbled towards B's basket. Stops. Shoots. Catches rebound. I made the call from "L" at half court.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 06:02pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
I hope that FIBA rules are different on this play (which I don't think they are) cause that's a call that one of the officials has to make.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 06:12pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
does hitting the rim change anything ?
This silly question got me thinking.

At first, I was thinking, if A-1 hits B's rim, and caught the "rebound," that's not a dribble. Further inspection of 4-15-1 tells me otherwise.

So, if A-2 purposely throws the ball against A's backboard, runs and catches it, then starts a dribble, that's legal, per 4-15-1. ("It is not part of a dribble when the ball touches the player's own backboard.") However, if A-2 purposely throws the ball against A's rim (NOT the backboard), catches it (yes, I know, very difficult), and starts a dribble, wouldn't that be illegal by rule? Or, is there a case that says it's all part of a try for goal?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 06:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
"Shooting" at own basket????
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 06:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
This silly question got me thinking.

At first, I was thinking, if A-1 hits B's rim, and caught the "rebound," that's not a dribble. Further inspection of 4-15-1 tells me otherwise.

So, if A-2 purposely throws the ball against A's backboard, runs and catches it, then starts a dribble, that's legal, per 4-15-1. ("It is not part of a dribble when the ball touches the player's own backboard.") However, if A-2 purposely throws the ball against A's rim (NOT the backboard), catches it (yes, I know, very difficult), and starts a dribble, wouldn't that be illegal by rule? Or, is there a case that says it's all part of a try for goal?
Or are you losing your mind?

Why is it illegal to throw the ball and hit your own rim?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 07:32pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
This silly question got me thinking.

At first, I was thinking, if A-1 hits B's rim, and caught the "rebound," that's not a dribble. Further inspection of 4-15-1 tells me otherwise.

So, if A-2 purposely throws the ball against A's backboard, runs and catches it, then starts a dribble, that's legal, per 4-15-1. ("It is not part of a dribble when the ball touches the player's own backboard.") However, if A-2 purposely throws the ball against A's rim (NOT the backboard), catches it (yes, I know, very difficult), and starts a dribble, wouldn't that be illegal by rule? Or, is there a case that says it's all part of a try for goal?
A player throws the ball at his basket and it hits the rim. It's a try. Move on and don't consider anything else.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 08:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
4.15.1 SITUATION C:

A1 attempts a pass to A2 during pressing action in A's backcourt. The ball hits B's backboard and deflects directly back to A1 who catches the ball and: (a) passes the ball to A2; or (b) starts a dribble.

RULING: The pass against B's backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball. In (a), the pass is legal action. In (b), it is a violation for a second dribble. (4-4-5; 9-5)
I think 4.15.4 SITUATION C applies better in this case, it's not really a "pass."

After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball: (a) against the opponent’s backboard and catches the rebound;
RULING: A1 has violated in (a). Throwing the ball against the opponent’s backboard constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the board.

Edit: I also like the fact the shot clock operator had enough sense not to reset it here every shot.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 10:13pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
As has been noted, subtly, already, the thread title is misleading.

A's basket is the one in which they attempt to score.

This isn't soccre.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NHSF "intentional" vs NCAA "flagarent" terminology Duffman Basketball 17 Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:15pm
Is "the patient whistle" and "possession consequence" ruining the game? fiasco Basketball 46 Fri Dec 02, 2011 08:43am
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight pizanno Basketball 27 Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am
Overtime Situation, Shooting at "Wrong" Basket rgncjn Basketball 4 Sat Jan 20, 2007 11:52am
fouled while "shooting" at wrong basket A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 15 Sun Apr 30, 2006 01:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1