![]() |
|
|
|||
Player control scenario
This situation came up last night during a NCAA-W D2 exhibition game. I would greatly appreciate everyone's thoughts. I am in the T position. Here's the lead-up:
A1 dribbling the ball in A's frontcourt (my PCA) while being defended by B1. B1 reaches in (no contact) and knocks the ball loose. The ball deflects hard off A1's leg and is bouncing toward the endline. I stay with the ball, unsure if L has seen the deflection and want to make sure we get the OOB call correct. B2 comes from the corner and jumps, intercepting the ball before it lands out of bounds and throwing it back on the court. From my perspective, the ball clearly came to rest on B2's hand before she threw it back onto the court ... so I turned to the shot clock operator who was right next to me and said, "That's a reset." She responded by resetting the shot clock to 30 and then starting it when A1 received the ball on the save from B2. After the game in the dressing room, the L asked me why I had the shot clock reset and I explained to him what I had seen. He disagreed, indicating that he didn't believe B2 had actually possessed the ball long enough for it to be considered control regardless of whether or not it had come to rest in her palm. We had a spirited discussion and reviewed the appropriate rules. Rule 2-11: Art. 6. Stop the timing device and reset it: a. When team control is re-established after the team loses possession of the ball; Note: The mere touching of the ball by an opponent does not start a new shot-clock period when the same team remains in control of the ball. Rule 4-15: Art. 1. A player shall be in control when: a. Holding a live ball; or b. Dribbling a live ball while inbounds. Right call or wrong call?
__________________
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it. |
|
|||
I considered this while driving home from the game last night. Truthfully, I'm not sure if I would have or not. Perhaps I was a bit too hasty in calling for the reset.
Quote:
![]()
__________________
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it. |
|
|||
Too little too late
Quote:
![]()
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
I have no problem with how you interpreted and handled the situation. For what it's worth, in the NBA:
If a player is saving the ball, a throw equals a reset when applicable, while a bat would keep the shot clock the same.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
I think this comes down to judgement of whether you think the player caught it or not. Both of you could have been right depending on how long each of you felt it was in contact with the hand.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Oct 31, 2012 at 12:37pm. |
|
|||
Maybe something to think about here...if she really had control of the ball, why did she not throw it to one of her teammates instead of an opponent?
Not saying you were wrong...you seem to be questioning yourself as to whether or not she had control...so just another question to think about. |
|
|||
Quote:
You didnt really turn, did you?
__________________
I gotta new attitude! Last edited by tref; Wed Oct 31, 2012 at 10:42am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Team Control Foul and Player Control | The_Rookie | Basketball | 19 | Mon Oct 29, 2012 05:03pm |
Player Control or Team Control Foul | The_Rookie | Basketball | 1 | Sun Jan 16, 2011 04:19pm |
Player Control and Team Control fouls | MelbRef | Basketball | 15 | Mon Dec 15, 2008 01:43pm |
Player control vs Team control foul | QuebecRef87 | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 26, 2005 07:42am |
Injured Player Scenario. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Soccer | 12 | Wed Aug 18, 2004 09:45am |