The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 09, 2012, 06:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The touch by the opponent is not relevant to the dribble unless it causes a loss of control. Did it? Even it it did, if the touch occurs after the release, which is the start of the second dribble, it is still a violation.
Agree.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 10, 2012, 12:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
A1 dribbling, commits a clear carry as she tries to go around B1.

As I blow the whistle, B1 slaps the ball before it hits the ground following the ball coming to rest in A1's hand.

The ball has come to rest, and A1 has brought her hand around top again and begun pushing it to the floor. I thought my whistle was quick, but wanted to bring the play here for the good of the cause.
So...the ball had left the dribbler's hand? If that's the case the violation took place before the ball was touched by the defender.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)

Last edited by JetMetFan; Tue Jul 10, 2012 at 10:13am.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 10, 2012, 12:25am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
So...the ball had left the dribbler's hand? If that's the case the violation took place before the ball was touched by th defender.
No, the ball had not left. She had begun the downward thrust, but the ball was still in contact with the hand.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 10, 2012, 01:11am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No, the ball had not left. She had begun the downward thrust, but the ball was still in contact with the hand.
It was still in contact with the hand while the touch by the defender occurred, then released, then you had a whistle?

So, in your judgment, the touch had no effect on the release, correct?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 10, 2012, 02:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No, the ball had not left. She had begun the downward thrust, but the ball was still in contact with the hand.
In that case, I think you may have jumped the gun a bit.

I don't think it is a dribble until it is released (if not even later). Why? The pivot foot restrictions as they relate to the dribble are relative to the release of the ball to "start" a dribble.

What if she had, somehow, caught the ball before it was clear from the hand (perhaps scooping it back to her self to catch it)? Ignoring the carry rule, would you have called that an illegal dribble? Doesn't that more resemble an awkward looking but fully legal way to end the dribble.

A player can even toss the ball into the air and catch it and as long as they don't move, that isn't a dribble (illegal or legal) and it isn't a travel.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Jul 10, 2012 at 11:09am.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 10, 2012, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No, the ball had not left. She had begun the downward thrust, but the ball was still in contact with the hand.
Okay, that's why I asked the question.

To follow CR's point, there wasn't anything until the ball came out of her hand again. At best it could have been a travel since - I'm assuming - her feet were still moving in whatever direction she was going and she might have taken a couple of steps after the ball came to rest in her hand. With the ball still in contact with her hand it couldn't have been an illegal dribble.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 10, 2012, 10:34am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Okay, that's why I asked the question.

To follow CR's point, there wasn't anything until the ball came out of her hand again. At best it could have been a travel since - I'm assuming - her feet were still moving in whatever direction she was going and she might have taken a couple of steps after the ball came to rest in her hand. With the ball still in contact with her hand it couldn't have been an illegal dribble.
It happened more quickly than that, and I'll add that B1's touch didn't affect the ball in any material way. My whistle may have been early, but I don't think it was incorrect. Unless you think B1's touch gives A1 another dribble.

Imagine if A1 had actually picked up her dribble and as she started a new, illegal, dribble, B1 clips the ball while it is still touching her hand but on its downward thrust. No affect on the ball's movement.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 10, 2012, 06:49pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,383
Ah Ha, The Plot Thickens ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Imagine if A1 had actually picked up her dribble and as she started a new, illegal, dribble, B1 clips the ball while it is still touching her hand but on its downward thrust. No affect on the ball's movement.
How does an official know that the action described above is not the start of a legal bounce pass to a teammate?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 10, 2012, 09:32pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
How does an official know that the action described above is not the start of a legal bounce pass to a teammate?
How does an official know anything? You see the play and you make a judgment. Most of the time, a pass and the start of a dribble look nothing alike.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2012, 06:03am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,383
Start Me Up ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Most of the time, a (bounce) pass and the start of a dribble look nothing alike.
(My parenthesis above)

Aren't the start of both exactly the same, by definition? They certainly have a different ending, but I'm only talking about the start of both.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Jul 11, 2012 at 06:05am.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2012, 06:44am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,383
What A Jerk ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Aren't the start of both exactly the same, by definition? They certainly have a different ending, but I'm only talking about the start of both.
Hey BillyMac. This is, by far, the stupidest post, ever, in the history of Al Gore's internet. One important difference is that a player can legally lift the pivot foot at the start of a bounce pass, but cannot legally lift the pivot foot to start a dribble.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2012, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
seems to me this is a no-call. It's only a travel if the player takes too many steps while the ball is in the hand. It's only an illegal dribble when it comes back up into their hand - which it did not, directly.

The fact that b did not complete the steal of the ball is immaterial - i'd have no call in either case.
+1
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2012, 10:36am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Seems to me this is a no-call. It's only a travel if the player takes too many steps while the ball is in the hand. It's only an illegal dribble when it comes back up into their hand - which it did not, directly.

The fact that B did not complete the steal of the ball is immaterial - I'd have no call in either case.
Actually, it did come back to her hand, directly. 1. B1's contact did not alter the ball, and it happened while the ball was in A1's hand. This sort of contact would not grant a player a new dribble, so why should it absolve her of the carry?

My whistle was, perhaps, early, but I don't think it was incorrect.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2012, 10:37am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
In that case, I think you may have jumped the gun a bit.
I agree.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2012, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Seems to me this is a no-call. It's only a travel if the player takes too many steps while the ball is in the hand. It's only an illegal dribble when it comes back up into their hand - which it did not, directly.

The fact that B did not complete the steal of the ball is immaterial - I'd have no call in either case.
+2
If the player catches dribble by putting hand under ball (i.e. carries) and then pushes ball out of hand to floor there is no violation unless player touches ball after release. Who is to say player wasn't going to pass ball??
So I have no call.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do you carry? zm1283 Basketball 39 Wed Nov 24, 2010 11:03pm
Is this a carry? Bradford82 Basketball 40 Wed Dec 16, 2009 09:04pm
catch and carry travelingcoach Softball 4 Sun Jul 09, 2006 10:27pm
Carry JLC Basketball 10 Thu Feb 26, 2004 04:25pm
"Carry!" Mark Dexter Basketball 2 Sun Dec 17, 2000 10:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1