The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Carry, or No Call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/91977-carry-no-call.html)

Adam Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:39pm

Carry, or No Call?
 
A1 dribbling, commits a clear carry as she tries to go around B1.

As I blow the whistle, B1 slaps the ball before it hits the ground following the ball coming to rest in A1's hand.

The ball has come to rest, and A1 has brought her hand around top again and begun pushing it to the floor. I thought my whistle was quick, but wanted to bring the play here for the good of the cause.

Camron Rust Mon Jul 09, 2012 01:43am

Interesting. But if you break it down, it is really just the oft ask question..."when does a dribble become a dribble?"

Fundamentally, the carry is really either an illegal dribble or a travel. For several years, that was all we had as a carry was not defined in the rule book. Either the player ended the dribble by catching the ball and started another dribble or has moved the feet while holding the ball.

So, would you have called a travel with any variation on this play, probably not.

That leaves illegal dribble. Did they start a new dribble after ending the first? Does releasing the ball constitute the start of a dribble? I think it does. Thus, I think they started a new dribble and violated.

It is just that sometimes, when it is ambiguous, we wait to see what happens next to declare it a dribble. In this case, I think it is fine to have called the violation. The fact that he dribble was intercepted by the defense doesn't make it something other than dribble.

BillyMac Mon Jul 09, 2012 05:59am

From Your Friendly Neighborhood Mythbusters ...
 
Palming or carrying is when the ball comes to rest in the player's hand, and the player either travels with the ball, or dribbles a second time. There is no restriction as to how high a player may bounce the ball, provided the ball does not come to rest in a player’s hand. Steps taken during a dribble are not traveling, including several that are sometimes taken when a high dribble takes place. It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble.

Adam Mon Jul 09, 2012 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 848482)
Palming or carrying is when the ball comes to rest in the player's hand, and the player either travels with the ball, or dribbles a second time. There is no restriction as to how high a player may bounce the ball, provided the ball does not come to rest in a player’s hand. Steps taken during a dribble are not traveling, including several that are sometimes taken when a high dribble takes place. It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble.

????

Where was the myth in my post?

26 Year Gap Mon Jul 09, 2012 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848470)
A1 dribbling, commits a clear carry as she tries to go around B1. (This happened)
As I blow the whistle(so you did this), B1 slaps the ball before it hits the ground following the ball coming to rest in A1's hand.(Then, after the violation which was why you sounded the whistle, this happened).
The ball has come to rest, and A1 has brought her hand around top again and begun pushing it to the floor. I thought my whistle was quick, but wanted to bring the play here for the good of the cause.

I think you may be making more of this than needs to be.

Adam Mon Jul 09, 2012 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 848573)
I think you may be making more of this than needs to be.

Maybe, but Camron's response is interesting, in that I was firmly in the "it's not a dribble until it hits his hand again" camp. Yet this particular play seemed obvious to me.

Besides, it's summer.

Raymond Mon Jul 09, 2012 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848578)
Maybe, but Camron's response is interesting, in that I was firmly in the "it's not a dribble until it hits his hand again" camp. Yet this particular play seemed obvious to me.

Besides, it's summer.

To me it's just a summer lesson in not being too quick with your whistle. If it were a camp and B1 ended up with ball you would be getting a speech from an observor about the benefits of a patient whistle.

Toren Mon Jul 09, 2012 03:33pm

I'm confused
 
I'm picturing A1 "about" to committ a carry as their hand is underneath the ball and they are "about" to continue their dribble, but B1 deflects the ball before the dribble hits the ground.

Is this correct?

Adam Mon Jul 09, 2012 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 848585)
I'm picturing A1 "about" to committ a carry as their hand is underneath the ball and they are "about" to continue their dribble, but B1 deflects the ball before the dribble hits the ground.

Is this correct?

No, her hand went under the ball, but had come back around to the top and she'd start the push downward when B1 clipped it.

tref Mon Jul 09, 2012 03:53pm

To-ma-to / To-mah-to
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 848585)
I'm picturing A1 "about" to committ a carry as their hand is underneath the ball and they are "about" to continue their dribble, but B1 deflects the ball before the dribble hits the ground.

Is this correct?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848586)
No, her hand went under the ball, but had come back around to the top and she'd start the push downward when B1 clipped it.

If a player is "about" to gain an advantage by carrying the ball, but its stolen prior to the violation, who does our whistle put at a disadvantage?

BillyMac Mon Jul 09, 2012 04:16pm

Once Upon A Time ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848527)
Where was the myth in my post?

No myth, just highlighting Camron Rust's statement, "Fundamentally, the carry is really either an illegal dribble or a travel."

Adam Mon Jul 09, 2012 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 848587)
If a player is "about" to gain an advantage by carrying the ball, but its stolen prior to the violation, who does our whistle put at a disadvantage?

Good question, but the ball wasn't stolen. She was continuing her dribble and would have gone around the defender. The ball was deflected only slightly, and the defender was leaning the wrong way.

tref Mon Jul 09, 2012 04:32pm

Lean Back
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848593)
Good question, but the ball wasn't stolen. She was continuing her dribble and would have gone around the defender. The ball was deflected only slightly, and the defender was leaning the wrong way.

Sounds like a nasty position to be in, officiating-wise.
Thank God "I'm not a good womens official" keeps me off of those games for the most part.

MD Longhorn Mon Jul 09, 2012 04:46pm

Seems to me this is a no-call. It's only a travel if the player takes too many steps while the ball is in the hand. It's only an illegal dribble when it comes back up into their hand - which it did not, directly.

The fact that B did not complete the steal of the ball is immaterial - I'd have no call in either case.

just another ref Mon Jul 09, 2012 06:22pm

The touch by the opponent is not relevant to the dribble unless it causes a loss of control. Did it? Even it it did, if the touch occurs after the release, which is the start of the second dribble, it is still a violation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1