The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2012, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
But the defender didn't cause the contact...the shooter did.
Causing contact isn't against the rules. In fact, shooters usually cause the contact in most blocks....but it is a block because the defender wasn't legal in some way and the shooter took advantage of it.

In this case, the defender is moving forward at the time of contact. To be moving at the time of contact, the player must have LGP. Let's assume he did obtain it....he did. The rules on maintaining it then say...
Rule 4-23-2c
The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs.

The defender violated this requirement and gave up LGP by doing so. He did not satisfied the requirements of guarding and thus committed the foul.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2012, 03:58pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
In this case, the defender is moving forward at the time of contact.
I guess maybe we aren't looking at the same play...the way I see this play (and yes, I just watched it again) the defender was NOT moving forward AT the time of contact. He moved forward, stopped, and then the shooter jumped into him.

Oh well...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2012, 04:58pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,513
This Fence Sitting Is Really Hurting My Buttocks ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
He moved forward, stopped, and then the shooter jumped into him.
Are you positive that he stopped? I'm not, and I've looked at the video a half dozen times. I'm also not sure that he didn't stop.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2012, 06:17pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
I guess maybe we aren't looking at the same play...the way I see this play (and yes, I just watched it again) the defender was NOT moving forward AT the time of contact. He moved forward, stopped, and then the shooter jumped into him.

Oh well...
I'm with you rocky, the defender did not move into the shooter. He moved his right foot after establishing LGP, but his torso never moved. Also, did A1 even get airborne before the contact? I just looked again, A1 created contact before leaving the ground.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon May 07, 2012 at 06:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2012, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I'm with you rocky, the defender did not move into the shooter. He moved his right foot after establishing LGP, but his torso never moved.
Unless you deliberately, and with specific concentration, stick your foot backwards or forwards in an effort to not move your torso, it is pretty hard to do. In the course of the play, I doubt the player would have done so. If you're agreeing that the player moved his foot forward, you're pretty much agreeing he was moving forward.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Also, did A1 even get airborne before the contact? *I just looked again, A1 created contact before leaving the ground.
And what does A1 being airborne have to do with anything? Moving forward at the time of contact is prohibited no matter the status of the opponent. The status of the shooter (airborne or not) is irrelevant to this case.

The ONLY question that has to be answered is whether the defender was moving forward at the time of contact or not.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2012, 08:05am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Unless you deliberately, and with specific concentration, stick your foot backwards or forwards in an effort to not move your torso, it is pretty hard to do. In the course of the play, I doubt the player would have done so. If you're agreeing that the player moved his foot forward, you're pretty much agreeing he was moving forward.
No, I'm saying your absolutes about what a person's body does when moving one foot are nonsense. I can move my foot all day long without it affecting my torso


Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
And what does A1 being airborne have to do with anything? Moving forward at the time of contact is prohibited no matter the status of the opponent. The status of the shooter (airborne or not) is irrelevant to this case.

The ONLY question that has to be answered is whether the defender was moving forward at the time of contact or not.
His right foot is replanted before contact so the only way it would be a block is if A1 had been airborne.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue May 08, 2012 at 08:47am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2012, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
No, I'm saying your absolutes about what a person's body does when moving one foot are nonsense. I can move my foot all day long without it affecting my torso
Yes, but you have to think about doing it. In the course of playing basketball, it wouldn't be a natural movement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
His right foot is replanted before contact so the only way it would be a block is if A1 had been airborne.
That is your opinion, and perhaps accurate. I had his torso still shifting forward at the time of contact. As such, even if his foot was down, it is irrelevant.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block/Charge: RA Play APG Basketball 21 Mon May 07, 2012 03:02pm
Block/Charge? JohnDorian37 Basketball 16 Sun Jan 16, 2011 01:48pm
Charge and a block on the same play Coach Bill Basketball 33 Thu Jan 24, 2008 04:16pm
Block or charge Rita C Basketball 16 Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm
Shot Rebound, Foul Lane Block bwbuddy Basketball 5 Mon Jan 05, 2004 10:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1