![]() |
|
|||
If you pause it at the point of contact, you will see that the shooter is going at an angle INTO the defender who is being shoved at an angle backwards...so I don't get this whole "he was moving into the shooter" thing.
|
|
|||
A block isn't a bad choice if we have to have a whistle here. But the RA has nothing to do with this play.
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
And if you back it up a few more frames, you'll see the defender stepping forward to that point of contact. The defender started with his left foot coming down near the shooters left (pivot) foot with his (the defender) right foot trailing. He steps forward towards the shooter bringing his right foot ahead of his left at which time the two collide.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
If the defender is moving toward the player with the ball at the time of contact, then he did cause the contact.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
Did the defender move forward? Yes...Was he still moving forward when the contact happened? No...the shooter jumped at an angle into the defender. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Causing contact isn't against the rules. In fact, shooters usually cause the contact in most blocks....but it is a block because the defender wasn't legal in some way and the shooter took advantage of it.
In this case, the defender is moving forward at the time of contact. To be moving at the time of contact, the player must have LGP. Let's assume he did obtain it....he did. The rules on maintaining it then say... Rule 4-23-2c The defender violated this requirement and gave up LGP by doing so. He did not satisfied the requirements of guarding and thus committed the foul.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
For that matter, show me where "throwing a shoulder" is defined. I don't recall seeing that in the rulebook.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon May 07, 2012 at 02:18pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Defenders must legally cut off the dribbler. If they don't, it is a block. It doesn't matter how the dribbler comes in (excluding extended limbs....push-offs with the arm or kicks with the foot)....if the defender is not legal, it is not a charge.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Oh well... |
|
|||
This Fence Sitting Is Really Hurting My Buttocks ...
Are you positive that he stopped? I'm not, and I've looked at the video a half dozen times. I'm also not sure that he didn't stop.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
I'm with you rocky, the defender did not move into the shooter. He moved his right foot after establishing LGP, but his torso never moved. Also, did A1 even get airborne before the contact? I just looked again, A1 created contact before leaving the ground.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Mon May 07, 2012 at 06:19pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
The ONLY question that has to be answered is whether the defender was moving forward at the time of contact or not.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Block/Charge: RA Play | APG | Basketball | 21 | Mon May 07, 2012 03:02pm |
Block/Charge? | JohnDorian37 | Basketball | 16 | Sun Jan 16, 2011 01:48pm |
Charge and a block on the same play | Coach Bill | Basketball | 33 | Thu Jan 24, 2008 04:16pm |
Block or charge | Rita C | Basketball | 16 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm |
Shot Rebound, Foul Lane Block | bwbuddy | Basketball | 5 | Mon Jan 05, 2004 10:52am |