The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2012, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Not all that complicated, we should be capable of making those distinctions. And we have to make certain disctinctions anyway to determine whether or not time should come off the clock. Team A is responsible for a legal throw-in. A2 catching the ball while already OOB violates that, IMO.
Except that a legal throwin isn't defined to require that. In fact. It is explicitly defined to not require that.

And still, why make more variations in situations....either way team B gets the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2012, 08:51pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Except that a legal throwin isn't defined to require that. In fact. It is explicitly defined to not require that.

And still, why make more variations in situations....either way team B gets the ball.
If it so explicit why the ruling from Mr. Hyland that puts the ball back at the original throw-in spot even if B2 makes the catch?

And definitions and rules can change and evolve and you may or may not agree with them. Thus the phrase "IMO".
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Apr 24, 2012 at 08:59pm.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2012, 09:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
If it so explicit why the ruling from Mr. Hyland that puts the ball back at the original throw-in spot even if B2 makes the catch?

And definitions and rules can change and evolve and you may or may not agree with them. Thus the phrase "IMO".
Maybe he didn't read the rule before making his statement.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2012, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Maybe he didn't read the rule before making his statement.
I had a play two weekends ago it went like this: Team A, with 1.2 seconds on the clock and up 2 points, has an sideline throw in. They call a timeout and come out with a play that gets a wide open pass down the court on the same sideline, problem is the thrower in (A1) throws it so the ball hooks out.

Player A2 who is the intended target is trying to stay in bounds and grab the ball, he fails.

I was the official who handed the ball to player A1 for the original throw in. So I had the chop of the clock. The clock ran to .7 seconds. I run down the court and ask the covering official if the player A2 was standing OOB when he caught the ball. The official says he was. I get the crew together, it's 3 man crew. I tell them, we didn't have a legal throw in, since the player was standing OOB when he caught it. I also interpret that no time could have ran off the clock and the ball should be put back at the original spot.

So Team B gets the ball on their side of the court with 1.2 and they end up missing a pretty wide open 3 pointer to win the game.

Now I'm wondering if we adjudicated it correctly. At the time, the ruling "felt" correct, and now I'm hearing both sides of this argument. But as far as intention goes, the way we adjudicated still "feels" right to me.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2012, 11:53pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
I think it's pretty simple.

ANY TIME a player is touching a live ball when he's on or over the boundary line, unless he's executing a throw-in, he has caused the ball to go out of bounds.

If a throw-in touches something out of bounds before it touches a player, it's a throw-in violation.

Now, as in Toren's case, if a throw-in is first touched by someone out of bounds, there's no way time can elapse, as the violation is immediate.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2012, 07:50am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
I had a play two weekends ago it went like this: Team A, with 1.2 seconds on the clock and up 2 points, has an sideline throw in. They call a timeout and come out with a play that gets a wide open pass down the court on the same sideline, problem is the thrower in (A1) throws it so the ball hooks out.

Player A2 who is the intended target is trying to stay in bounds and grab the ball, he fails.

I was the official who handed the ball to player A1 for the original throw in. So I had the chop of the clock. The clock ran to .7 seconds. I run down the court and ask the covering official if the player A2 was standing OOB when he caught the ball. The official says he was. I get the crew together, it's 3 man crew. I tell them, we didn't have a legal throw in, since the player was standing OOB when he caught it. I also interpret that no time could have ran off the clock and the ball should be put back at the original spot.

So Team B gets the ball on their side of the court with 1.2 and they end up missing a pretty wide open 3 pointer to win the game.

Now I'm wondering if we adjudicated it correctly. At the time, the ruling "felt" correct, and now I'm hearing both sides of this argument. But as far as intention goes, the way we adjudicated still "feels" right to me.
Your play is why I "want" this play deemed a throw-in violation and the ensuing throw-in returned to the original spot. To me it makes a difference whether it was the offense or the defense who violated.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2012, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
I think it's pretty simple.

ANY TIME a player is touching a live ball when he's on or over the boundary line, unless he's executing a throw-in, he has caused the ball to go out of bounds.

If a throw-in touches something out of bounds before it touches a player, it's a throw-in violation.

Now, as in Toren's case, if a throw-in is first touched by someone out of bounds, there's no way time can elapse, as the violation is immediate.
+1

Why everyone doesnt see it this way, I dont know. Makes total sense in all 3 codes.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in Violation? CDurham Basketball 2 Mon Jan 11, 2010 09:46am
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
BC violation on throw-in? Jay R Basketball 1 Fri Jul 23, 2004 09:54am
Throw in Violation? Jeff the Ref Basketball 13 Wed Feb 21, 2001 08:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1