The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2012, 07:44am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,709
The problem with the NCAA rule is that it specifically says that the thrower-in must pass the ball so that it is touched by a player on the "playing court", which in Rule 4 is defined as the inbounds portion of the playing surface.

So, even though I don't like the rule, I think Mr. Hyland is interpreting it correctly.

IMHO, the NCAA should just change their rule to read the same as the NFHS rule.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in question; when can the thrower legally touch the ball again? RefLarry Basketball 3 Sun Oct 31, 2010 03:11pm
Legally Equipped? Why Do We Ask? Spence Basketball 62 Thu Oct 28, 2010 01:40pm
BU/ISU Game 1/31 - Baseline inbounds throw hits backboard AE Braves Fan Basketball 5 Sun Feb 01, 2009 01:35pm
Legally leaving the court.... ronny mulkey Basketball 16 Sat Dec 17, 2005 03:16pm
FP - Runners advance legally? DaNewGuy Softball 3 Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1