View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2012, 07:24pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
I might be going mad. I remember a case play at one time as follows:

After a made basket, A1 throws a pass into their FC to a wide open A2. The pass a) goes OOB untouched b) is tipped by A2 and goes OOB c) is caught by A2 who is OOB.

Ruling: a) OOB at the spot of the original throwin b & c) OOB nearest the violation (spot the ball went OOB).

I can't find this case play anymore or justification for c). Am I crazy for remembering this? Thanks all

-Josh
The ruling was in an internet interpretation issued by the NFHS a couple of seasons ago. Strangely, there is a current controversy with the NCAA ruling on this play. There is thread on this forum with the NCAA guy saying that the throw-in will revert to the original spot for case c.
Most of us think that he is nuts.
Reply With Quote