The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-in never touched legally inbounds (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/90149-throw-never-touched-legally-inbounds.html)

jdmara Wed Mar 21, 2012 06:39pm

Throw-in never touched legally inbounds
 
I might be going mad. I remember a case play at one time as follows:

After a made basket, A1 throws a pass into their FC to a wide open A2. The pass a) goes OOB untouched b) is tipped by A2 and goes OOB c) is caught by A2 who is OOB.

Ruling: a) OOB at the spot of the original throwin b & c) OOB nearest the violation (spot the ball went OOB).

I can't find this case play anymore or justification for c). Am I crazy for remembering this? Thanks all

-Josh

Camron Rust Wed Mar 21, 2012 06:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 833541)
I might be going mad. I remember a case play at one time as follows:

After a made basket, A1 throws a pass into their FC to a wide open A2. The pass a) goes OOB untouched b) is tipped by A2 and goes OOB c) is caught by A2 who is OOB.

Ruling: a) OOB at the spot of the original throwin b & c) OOB nearest the violation (spot the ball went OOB).

I can't find this case play anymore or justification for c). Am I crazy for remembering this? Thanks all

-Josh

Don't have time to find the case, but the justification for c is that A2 violated by causing the ball to be OOB. Same as if it were B2. Thus, that is the spot of the violation. A1, the thrower, was not party to the violation and completed the throw legally....to another player (who happened to cause it to be OOB).

Nevadaref Wed Mar 21, 2012 07:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 833541)
I might be going mad. I remember a case play at one time as follows:

After a made basket, A1 throws a pass into their FC to a wide open A2. The pass a) goes OOB untouched b) is tipped by A2 and goes OOB c) is caught by A2 who is OOB.

Ruling: a) OOB at the spot of the original throwin b & c) OOB nearest the violation (spot the ball went OOB).

I can't find this case play anymore or justification for c). Am I crazy for remembering this? Thanks all

-Josh

The ruling was in an internet interpretation issued by the NFHS a couple of seasons ago. Strangely, there is a current controversy with the NCAA ruling on this play. There is thread on this forum with the NCAA guy saying that the throw-in will revert to the original spot for case c.
Most of us think that he is nuts.

jdmara Wed Mar 21, 2012 08:29pm

What brought it up is that I saw this play in a NCAA game and they brought it back to the original throw in spot. I guess I've missed the other thread.

-Josh

Adam Wed Mar 21, 2012 09:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 833544)
The ruling was in an internet interpretation issued by the NFHS a couple of seasons ago. Strangely, there is a current controversy with the NCAA ruling on this play. There is thread on this forum with the NCAA guy saying that the throw-in will revert to the original spot for case c.
Most of us think that he is nuts.

I missed it, but is the ruling for the spot the same if B2 catches it while standing OOB?

JetMetFan Wed Mar 21, 2012 11:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 833544)
The ruling was in an internet interpretation issued by the NFHS a couple of seasons ago. Strangely, there is a current controversy with the NCAA ruling on this play. There is thread on this forum with the NCAA guy saying that the throw-in will revert to the original spot for case c.
Most of us think that he is nuts.

Remember, Nev, even the NCAA is a little confused.

The NCAAM's interpreter (Hyland) says in case "c" the throw-in will be at the original spot. The NCAAW's interpreter (Williamson) says the throw-in will be at the spot A2 caught the ball OOB...and she told me that two years ago!

BillyMac Thu Mar 22, 2012 06:15am

Misty Water Colored Memories ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 833541)
After a made basket, A1 throws a pass into their FC to a wide open A2. The pass is caught by B2 who is OOB.

Many, many years ago, the ruling would be violation on A1 for not completing a legal throwin, and the ball would go to B at the spot of the original throwin. This very old, and now changed, interpretation may explain the confusion among some of the more "experienced" officials. This myth will probably "hang around" until all of us more "experienced" officials are dead, not that I'm volunteering for anything soon.

Raymond Thu Mar 22, 2012 07:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 833581)
Many, many years ago, the ruling would be violation on A1 for not completing a legal throwin, and the ball would go to B at the spot of the original throwin. This very old, and now changed, interpretation may explain the confusion among some of the more "experienced" officials. This myth will probably "hang around" until all of us more "experienced" officials are dead, not that I'm volunteering for anything soon.

Billy, this happened in an NCAA game. And even though the rule is the same for NCAA-M and NCAA-W, Men's side is going with one interpretation and Women's side with the opposite. So it's not about myths. It's about a rule that is not clearly written and has no case play to guide us.

BTW, I'm agree with Nevada and NCAA-W, it should go to spot where the ball was caught since the thrower is not who violated.

Scrapper1 Thu Mar 22, 2012 07:44am

The problem with the NCAA rule is that it specifically says that the thrower-in must pass the ball so that it is touched by a player on the "playing court", which in Rule 4 is defined as the inbounds portion of the playing surface.

So, even though I don't like the rule, I think Mr. Hyland is interpreting it correctly.

IMHO, the NCAA should just change their rule to read the same as the NFHS rule.

letemplay Thu Mar 22, 2012 07:44am

Possession?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 833556)
I missed it, but is the ruling for the spot the same if B2 catches it while standing OOB?

In addition to Snaqs spot question, would/could this also be A's ball?

Scrapper1 Thu Mar 22, 2012 07:45am

Here's the other thread, btw:

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...case-play.html

Mr. Hyland's official ruling is posted in post #33.

BillyMac Thu Mar 22, 2012 04:50pm

Speaking Of Very "Experienced" Officials ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 833581)
This myth will probably "hang around" until all of us more "experienced" officials are dead, not that I'm volunteering for anything soon.

I will, however, nominate Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. as a volunteer. Do you guys know that he actually uses a walker when he officiates games? It's true. If you know Mark T. DeNucci, Sr., then you're within two degrees of separation from Dr. James Naismith. It's true.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1