The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2012, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
I don't know that I was picturing B3 as having LGP first. But let's say h/she does. Once A1 goes airborne, is B3 allowed to change that position and take away A1's landing?
Your options are mutually exclusive.

If B3 had LGP, that means they are already in A1's path and falling back can't/doesn't change that.

If B3 changes position to get in airborne A1's path, B3 didn't have LGP.

The way I view it is that falling back is not changing position or moving into the path of the shooter if they are already in the path when A1 went airborne. Falling back only reduces the amount of impact relative to what would have occurred had B3 stood their ground. That can't be a foul on the defender to reduce the impact that was going to otherwise occur. If B3 falls away and still gets hit, it is even more likely that it is a PC foul, IMHO....B3 was just softening the blow.

If B3 makes it to the floor before contact, but were in the path before A1 was airborne, I see that essentially as ducking the contact (a permitted act). If they had stood their ground, A1 would have only hit them harder. If A1 lands on them, I still don't see how B3 did anything to cause the contact since they were legally in their path to start with and only moved away from the opponent.

If, however, B3 wasn't squared up and in the path and A1 was going to fly by B3 but the fall puts B3 into A1's path (or landing spot), then B3 never had LGP to start with and it will be a block.


One common misconception, A1 isn't entitled to a landing "spot", only a path until they land. If B gets in that path before A jumps and is not moving forward at the time of contact, that is all that B is required to do.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Feb 21, 2012 at 06:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2012, 07:39pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post

If, however, B3 wasn't squared up and in the path and A1 was going to fly by B3 but the fall puts B3 into A1's path (or landing spot), then B3 never had LGP to start with and it will be a block.


.
This is how I was picturing it...

And I like your explanation of the player not losing LGP status.

I'm convinced.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2012, 08:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
This is how I was picturing it...

And I like your explanation of the player not losing LGP status.

I'm convinced.
Geeze, you're getting easier to convince in your old age.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2012, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 136
Once a player establishes LgP they don't have to maintain it to take a charge. However a player cannot have LGP while on the floor. If a player falls to the floor with no contact and the airborne shooter lands on him I'm calling a block all day long.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2012, 10:08pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
Once a player establishes LgP they don't have to maintain it to take a charge. However a player cannot have LGP while on the floor. If a player falls to the floor with no contact and the airborne shooter lands on him I'm calling a block all day long.
NFHS rules specifically state that every player is entitled to a space on the floor provided they get there legally. However unlikely, if a defender gets to a spot on while on the floor, first and legally, then by rule if a player is to land on him, it wouldn't be a block. This is different than the NCAA rule if I recall correctly.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by allpurposegamer View Post
nfhs rules specifically state that every player is entitled to a space on the floor provided they get there legally. However unlikely, if a defender gets to a spot on while on the floor, first and legally, then by rule if a player is to land on him, it wouldn't be a block. This is different than the ncaa rule if i recall correctly.
+1
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2012, 10:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
Once a player establishes LgP they don't have to maintain it to take a charge. However a player cannot have LGP while on the floor. If a player falls to the floor with no contact and the airborne shooter lands on him I'm calling a block all day long.
Please read the rules. This demonstrates either a lack of understanding of LGP or simply a miscommunication.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
NFHS rules specifically state that every player is entitled to a space on the floor provided they get there legally. However unlikely, if a defender gets to a spot on while on the floor, first and legally, then by rule if a player is to land on him, it wouldn't be a block. This is different than the NCAA rule if I recall correctly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
Once a player establishes LgP they don't have to maintain it to take a charge. However a player cannot have LGP while on the floor. If a player falls to the floor with no contact and the airborne shooter lands on him I'm calling a block all day long.
Duff, I would respectfully submit that you would be incorrect all day long making that call!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2012, 10:26pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Geeze, you're getting easier to convince in your old age.
Groupthink works!
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 09:25am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,714
We've had this exact conversation pretty recently, and I will repeat my minority opinion. Regardless of whether B1 has LGP before A1 becomes airborne, once A1 becomes airborne, if B1 moves to a new position, B1 is responsible for any contact.

There is no way I'm allowing any player to move into an airborne player's landing spot AFTER that player becomes airborne.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 09:33am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
We've had this exact conversation pretty recently, and I will repeat my minority opinion. Regardless of whether B1 has LGP before A1 becomes airborne, once A1 becomes airborne, if B1 moves to a new position, B1 is responsible for any contact.

There is no way I'm allowing any player to move into an airborne player's landing spot AFTER that player becomes airborne.
Was about to post the same opinion. A1 goes airborne and B1 falls without contact and B1's new position on the floor causes disadvantageous contact to A1 then I'm going with a block.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 09:37am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Was about to post the same opinion. A1 goes airborne and B1 falls without contact and B1's new position on the floor causes disadvantageous contact to A1 then I'm going with a block.
Maybe we're picturing this differently. If B1 fell away early enough that he is already on the floor, then I don't see how he would have LGP and I think a block is appropriate. If B1 is still falling and the contact is delayed only a second or two, I think we still have a PC foul.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 09:33am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
There is no way I'm allowing any player to move into an airborne player's landing spot AFTER that player becomes airborne.
So if B1 simply delays the moment that A1 initiates contact because he fell away, a PC foul is changed to a block? In my opinion, if A1 was going to go through B1 anyways, this is still a PC foul.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 09:42am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
In my opinion, if A1 was going to go through B1 anyways, this is still a PC foul.
But A1 didn't go through B1. B1 changed his position while A1 was airborne and put A1 at a disadvantage.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 22, 2012, 09:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 850
B1 and A1 are running in the same direction and same path. B1 is ahead of and moving away from A1. A1 is running/dribbling faster. Now A1 jumps for a lay-up, shoots and proceeds to land on B1.
I saw this play on Monday. Did B1 do anything wrong?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T for a flop? Rufus Basketball 8 Wed Feb 01, 2012 09:58pm
Flop scotties7125 Basketball 9 Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:14am
T for the flop Junker Basketball 29 Tue Jan 25, 2005 09:44am
T and the flop cmathews Basketball 12 Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:27am
1 and 1 flop rgaudreau Basketball 22 Sun Nov 11, 2001 09:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1