![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
And I like your explanation of the player not losing LGP status. I'm convinced. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Once a player establishes LgP they don't have to maintain it to take a charge. However a player cannot have LGP while on the floor. If a player falls to the floor with no contact and the airborne shooter lands on him I'm calling a block all day long.
|
|
|||
NFHS rules specifically state that every player is entitled to a space on the floor provided they get there legally. However unlikely, if a defender gets to a spot on while on the floor, first and legally, then by rule if a player is to land on him, it wouldn't be a block. This is different than the NCAA rule if I recall correctly.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
We've had this exact conversation pretty recently, and I will repeat my minority opinion. Regardless of whether B1 has LGP before A1 becomes airborne, once A1 becomes airborne, if B1 moves to a new position, B1 is responsible for any contact.
There is no way I'm allowing any player to move into an airborne player's landing spot AFTER that player becomes airborne. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Maybe we're picturing this differently. If B1 fell away early enough that he is already on the floor, then I don't see how he would have LGP and I think a block is appropriate. If B1 is still falling and the contact is delayed only a second or two, I think we still have a PC foul.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
So if B1 simply delays the moment that A1 initiates contact because he fell away, a PC foul is changed to a block? In my opinion, if A1 was going to go through B1 anyways, this is still a PC foul.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
But A1 didn't go through B1. B1 changed his position while A1 was airborne and put A1 at a disadvantage.
|
|
|||
We're picturing the play differently then.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
T for a flop? | Rufus | Basketball | 8 | Wed Feb 01, 2012 09:58pm |
Flop | scotties7125 | Basketball | 9 | Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:14am |
T for the flop | Junker | Basketball | 29 | Tue Jan 25, 2005 09:44am |
T and the flop | cmathews | Basketball | 12 | Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:27am |
1 and 1 flop | rgaudreau | Basketball | 22 | Sun Nov 11, 2001 09:11pm |