![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Billy: You are correct that it could be judged a non-contact FTF. I had such a call in the 1994 AAU Girls' 18U Nationals in Cleveland, Ohio. A1 got the ball in the high post with her back to the basket and B1 defender her from behind. A1 pivots a little bit to her left (enough to see where B1 was) and then swung her left elbow directly for B1's head. B1 saw the elbow coming and pulled back just in time to avoid being slammed in the face with A1's elbow. If A1's elbow had made contact with B1's face, B1 would have gone down for the count. A1's coach didn't like the call, the two Army assistant coaches who were there scouting A1 didn't like the call, and the Official Scorer (who was on the Colgate Univ. men's team at the time) didn't like the call. The smart aleck from Colgate went so far as to tell me that if I disqualified A1 he wouldn't record it in the book. The Site Manager instantly became the new Official Scorer. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
What is the correct call? | ozzy6900 | Baseball | 41 | Fri Oct 24, 2008 05:33pm |
What's the correct call | BlueTick48 | Baseball | 8 | Fri Aug 01, 2008 09:02am |
Was this the correct call | LouisianaDave | Basketball | 10 | Wed Feb 14, 2007 04:32pm |
What is the correct call? | RecRef | Basketball | 3 | Sun Nov 24, 2002 11:07pm |
What is the correct call? | gabenet | Basketball | 15 | Mon Oct 28, 2002 07:21pm |