The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 24, 2002, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 521
Question

Reviewing past Federation tests for the upcoming IAABO test. One question has me stumped; “It is an alternating possession throw-in when A1's throw-in lodges on a basket support.” Answer is given as false based on rules, 6-3-3d and 9-2-8. Both only report a violation if the ball lodges between the ring and the backboard or comes to rest on the flange.

Ok, the rule is the rule. But, what is the call if the ball does lodge in/on the basket support????
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 24, 2002, 05:31pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Rec Ref,it's a violation on a throw-in by the throwing team.From the floor in-bounds(shot,pass,etc),it's a jump ball and AP.

I think that it was just the way that you were reading the question.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 24, 2002, 05:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,112
Quote:
Originally posted by RecRef
Reviewing past Federation tests for the upcoming IAABO test. One question has me stumped; “It is an alternating possession throw-in when A1's throw-in lodges on a basket support.” Answer is given as false based on rules, 6-3-3d and 9-2-8. Both only report a violation if the ball lodges between the ring and the backboard or comes to rest on the flange.

Ok, the rule is the rule. But, what is the call if the ball does lodge in/on the basket support????
Note that the question asks about "basket support" -- I think you were interpreting that as "flange"

The "basket support" is the pipes / bars / wires / posts etc. that hold up the backboard.

These are always OOB and the ball is awarded to the other team. IT's not an AP throw-in, so the statement is False.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 24, 2002, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 276
When a thrower-in causes the ball to go directly to the basket support (hitting or lodging), or causes the ball to be lodged in the flange, they are both violations. Other violations are: leaving the designated spot, pass ball to a teammate out-of-bounds (spot throw-in), consume 5 seconds, carry ball onto court, first to touch ball on court, throw ball directly in basket, hand ball directly to teammate. In all cases, they are not AP situations (not like a held ball), so the AP arrow doesn't change. Other team gets ball at that spot of violation, AP arrow stays the same.
Rule 9 Section 2
The only exception to this is when the ORIGINAL throw-in is an AP throw-in. In that case, if the thrower-in violates, he loses the ball AND the possession arrow. For example, A1 throws the ball in (on his AP throw in), but steps over the line as he releases the ball. Referee tweets, stops clock, gives ball to B, and the arrow is also pointed to B (when throw-in is completed). Not to be confused with the jump ball violation to start the game, where the violating team gets the arrow.

So, the answer to the original question would have been FALSE, even if the ball had been lodged in the flange.
One other thought; if you are reviewing old tests, some of the answers may be wrong because of rules changes since they were published. Be sure you have the updated answers.
Good Luck



Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1