The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 90
What would the situation be to shoot them with the lane cleared? Should we have shot the freethrows then went to POI?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gargil View Post
What would the situation be to shoot them with the lane cleared? Should we have shot the freethrows then went to POI?
Yes. If POI is team control, shoot with the lane cleared and give the ball back to the team in control.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Not exactly correct

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Yes. If POI is team control, shoot with the lane cleared and give the ball back to the team in control.
If team possession had changed then you shoot with lane cleared and then go with POI and give the ball back to team in control. If White was in team control and there had been no change in possession then we line them up. Just as Snaqwell said.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 74
Stayed to watch GV after my freshman game last nite. Close game, about 2 minutes left in 4th Q. 10th foul on V, H lines up and refs all signal 2 shots. 1st shot misses and V grabs the rebound and everyone goes to the other end, about 4-5 passes, the horn blows. They come back down and H shoots her second free throw with the lane filled. Kind of neat to see after reading this thread earlier in the day. Well officiated game- 2 of the 3 refs were state finals guys.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sco53 View Post
Stayed to watch GV after my freshman game last nite. Close game, about 2 minutes left in 4th Q. 10th foul on V, H lines up and refs all signal 2 shots. 1st shot misses and V grabs the rebound and everyone goes to the other end, about 4-5 passes, the horn blows. They come back down and H shoots her second free throw with the lane filled. Kind of neat to see after reading this thread earlier in the day. Well officiated game- 2 of the 3 refs were state finals guys.
I'm pretty sure the rebound by V counts as a change of possession and they should have gone POI. So award the second free throw, lane cleared.

Oh Correctable Error, how you haunt my dreams
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 74
2.10.1 Situation A
Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes no change in team possession
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sco53 View Post
2.10.1 Situation A
Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes no change in team possession
This is why it's best to not have a CE situation...I don't know how to administer
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 07:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sco53 View Post
2.10.1 Situation A
Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes no change in team possession
FYI, it used to be the exact opposite....and the rationale WAS that it was A's possession during the FT and B's possession once they got the rebound. Not sure why they decided to flip it, but they did.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 07:01am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,454
Correctable Error ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sco53 View Post
2.10.1 Situation A
Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes no change in team possession
2.10.1 SITUATION A: A1 is fouled and entitled to two free throws under the
double-bonus rule, however, the officials indicate a one-and-one bonus situation.
The first attempt is unsuccessful; B4 rebounds the ball and passes it up to B2.
The error is discovered with B2 in possession of the live ball near mid-court.
RULING: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected.
Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes
no change in team possession. Therefore, A1 will receive the merited free
throw with players on the lane and play resumes from the free throw. (2-10-1a)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 12:56pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gargil View Post
What would the situation be to shoot them with the lane cleared? Should we have shot the freethrows then went to POI?
You gave the throw-in to white rather than the FTs. If the visitors had gained control or had a throw-in due (from a violation, foul, or score) before your whistle blew for the CE, then you would clear the lane and resume with POI.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 90
Understood, I appreciate the lesson. It is a situation I will handle with confidence in the future. Thanks Snaqs!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable error Clark Kent Basketball 7 Thu Dec 10, 2009 08:35am
Correctable Error ronny mulkey Basketball 6 Sun Nov 26, 2006 09:48am
Correctable Error golfdesigner Basketball 3 Sun Jan 09, 2005 02:57pm
Correctable Error hbioteach Basketball 2 Fri Dec 10, 2004 10:03am
Is this a correctable error? Jay R Basketball 2 Sun Nov 16, 2003 05:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1