The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 25, 2006, 10:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: White, GA
Posts: 482
Correctable Error

Report foul. Table advises 2 shots. First shot misses. 2nd shot is successful. Horn blows. It is 9th foul, not 10th.

I know we disallow goal. How do we put ball back in play?
__________________
Mulk
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 26, 2006, 12:14am
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
I'll take a shot

2-10-4 If the error is a free throw by the wrong player or at the wrong basket, or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it, other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls, shall be canceled.


2-10-6 If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error...

4-36-2-c Play shall be resumed by one of the following: An alternating-possession throw-in when the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved.


So as long as the foul did not occur during the end of a period: Cancel the 2nd free throw, then go to the arrow for a throw-in on the baseline.

Judges' ruling?

Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Sun Nov 26, 2006 at 12:25am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 26, 2006, 06:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
If the clock has not started after a throw-in following the second FT, cancel the point for the successful FT and award the ball to the team that was fouled at the designated spot nearest where the foul occurred. Do not go to the arrow. That's the point of interruption---where the game was stopped to award the unmerited FT.

If the clock has started after a throw-in following the second FT, cancel the point for the successful FT and award the ball as appropriate to when you stopped the game.

A.R. 21 in Rule 2-11.1b in the NCAA rulebook covers this exactly.

Last edited by Lotto; Sun Nov 26, 2006 at 06:23am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 26, 2006, 06:50am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lotto
If the clock has not started after a throw-in following the second FT, cancel the point for the successful FT and award the ball to the team that was fouled at the designated spot nearest where the foul occurred. Do not go to the arrow. That's the point of interruption---where the game was stopped to award the unmerited FT.

If the clock has started after a throw-in following the second FT, cancel the point for the successful FT and award the ball as appropriate to when you stopped the game.

A.R. 21 in Rule 2-11.1b in the NCAA rulebook covers this exactly.
I think that you mis-read the original post, Lotto. NCAA AR21 isn't applicable. AR21 refers to a situation where a 1/1 was wrongfully awarded. In this situation, the 1/1 was merited but the scorer wrongfully said that it was 2 shots for the 10th. foul. Iow,the first missed FT was merited, but the second made FT wasn't.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 26, 2006, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: White, GA
Posts: 482
JR,

And, the point of interruption is???

Mulk
__________________
Mulk
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 26, 2006, 09:47am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lotto
If the clock has not started after a throw-in following the second FT, cancel the point for the successful FT
Even if the clock has started and then stopped again for a foul or violation, the error is still correctable. The starting of the clock is not the end of the "statute of limitations" for correcting the error. The error can be corrected until the first dead ball (after the proper starting of the clock) has become live.

Quote:
and award the ball to the team that was fouled at the designated spot nearest where the foul occurred. Do not go to the arrow. That's the point of interruption---where the game was stopped to award the unmerited FT.
The point of interruption is where the game was stopped to correct the error (NCAA 2-11-4). In this case, the game was interrupted after the second successful free throw. Since we are going to cancel that free throw, there is no team control and we don't know who would have gotten possession after the first missed free throw. So we have to go to the arrow.

Quote:
A.R. 21 in Rule 2-11.1b in the NCAA rulebook covers this exactly.
As someone else pointed out, AR 21 does not apply at all. The applicable AR is AR 23(b). This is the exact situation that we're talking about.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 26, 2006, 09:48am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny mulkey
JR,

And, the point of interruption is???
No team control after the missed FT----> go to AP. Rule 4-36-1&2(c).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable Error Time2Ref Basketball 9 Sat Mar 11, 2006 08:06am
Correctable error or not? 181174 Basketball 5 Fri Jan 13, 2006 09:56am
Correctable Error? Stat-Man Basketball 7 Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:12am
Correctable error som44 Basketball 9 Mon Jan 26, 2004 02:51pm
correctable error? zac Basketball 7 Thu Oct 10, 2002 08:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1