The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 21, 2003, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
I would like to know the rulings for both Men’s college and NBA basketball:



1) Player A1 goes up for a shot and the defender B1 is in position prior to A1 going up for a shot (and outside the “under the basket circle” for the purpose of the NBA). Before the contact A1 shoots, he then contacts B1 and commits a foul on b1 and then the shot goes in, under traditional lore it would be a charge Does the shot count if released before contact was made? IF it does not count was this a recent change?

2) Player A1 shoots and hits nothing but the backboard (no rim) and A1 then catches it (without the ball hitting the ground or touched by anyone else) and then dribbles or shoots. Is this a loss of possession? I say it is, the people I play with say you can throw the ball off the backboard to yourself basically as a pass to shoot or dunk. I say no.



Can you reference sections of the rules that state the answers?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1