The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Couple of BBAll rules questions (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/8719-couple-bball-rules-questions.html)

kent Wed May 21, 2003 04:49pm

I would like to know the rulings for both Men’s college and NBA basketball:



1) Player A1 goes up for a shot and the defender B1 is in position prior to A1 going up for a shot (and outside the “under the basket circle” for the purpose of the NBA). Before the contact A1 shoots, he then contacts B1 and commits a foul on b1 and then the shot goes in, under traditional lore it would be a charge Does the shot count if released before contact was made? IF it does not count was this a recent change?

2) Player A1 shoots and hits nothing but the backboard (no rim) and A1 then catches it (without the ball hitting the ground or touched by anyone else) and then dribbles or shoots. Is this a loss of possession? I say it is, the people I play with say you can throw the ball off the backboard to yourself basically as a pass to shoot or dunk. I say no.



Can you reference sections of the rules that state the answers?

Camron Rust Wed May 21, 2003 05:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by kent
I would like to know the rulings for both Men?s college and NBA basketball:



1) Player A1 goes up for a shot and the defender B1 is in position prior to A1 going up for a shot (and outside the ?under the basket circle? for the purpose of the NBA). Before the contact A1 shoots, he then contacts B1 and commits a foul on b1 and then the shot goes in, under traditional lore it would be a charge Does the shot count if released before contact was made? IF it does not count was this a recent change?

<FONT COLOR=BLUE> Yes, for NCAA and NBA, the shot counts. No change. High School, the no basket.</font>

2) Player A1 shoots and hits nothing but the backboard (no rim) and A1 then catches it (without the ball hitting the ground or touched by anyone else) and then dribbles or shoots. Is this a loss of possession? I say it is, the people I play with say you can throw the ball off the backboard to yourself basically as a pass to shoot or dunk. I say no.

<FONT COLOR=BLUE>
Legal play. In all levels, once the ball hits the board, any player may retrieve the ball and may dribble again. This is also true for a shot that hits nothing in the NCAA and High School. For the NBA, it is traveling for the shooter to retrieve the ball if it has hit nothing (board, rim, another player).
</font>

Can you reference sections of the rules that state the answers?


ChuckElias Wed May 21, 2003 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by kent
1) Before the contact A1 shoots, he then contacts B1 and commits a foul on b1 and then the shot goes in, under traditional lore it would be a charge Does the shot count if released before contact was made?

<FONT COLOR=BLUE> Yes, for NCAA and NBA, the shot counts. No change. High School, the no basket.</font>

In the NBA, the basket would not count. No points can be scored if an offensive foul is assessed. Rule 12 Section VII (1).

Quote:

2) Player A1 shoots and hits nothing but the backboard (no rim) and A1 then catches it.
<FONT COLOR=BLUE>
Legal play.
</font>
[/QUOTE] [/B][/QUOTE]
NBA -- Rule 10 Section XIV (i).

Chuck

Camron Rust Wed May 21, 2003 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by kent
1) Before the contact A1 shoots, he then contacts B1 and commits a foul on b1 and then the shot goes in, under traditional lore it would be a charge Does the shot count if released before contact was made?

<FONT COLOR=BLUE> Yes, for NCAA and NBA, the shot counts. No change. High School, the no basket.</font>

In the NBA, the basket would not count. No points can be scored if an offensive foul is assessed. Rule 12 Section VII (1).

Quote:

2) Player A1 shoots and hits nothing but the backboard (no rim) and A1 then catches it.
<FONT COLOR=BLUE>
Legal play.
</font>

[/QUOTE]
NBA -- Rule 10 Section XIV (i).

Chuck [/B][/QUOTE]

Thanks for the correction. Of all the US based rules, the NBA's are the one's I'm least familiar with.

ChuckElias Wed May 21, 2003 06:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Thanks for the correction. Of all the US based rules, the NBA's are the one's I'm least familiar with.
Me too, Camron. :D (I think that's true for almost everybody on the board!)

kent Thu May 22, 2003 11:37am

Question 2
 
Re: Player A1 shoots and hits nothing but the backboard (no rim) and A1 then catches it.

Didn't this use to be an illegal play? Either that or I am losing it! Maybe I am thinking on free throws it has to hit the rim? and that you cannot throw it off the backboard essentially to yourself when shooting a free throw?

And to clarify: Does it have to be a legitimate shot for it to be a legal play by the letter of the law. Or is it still legal if you "pass" it to yourself with an obvious lack of intent to shoot on the pass.

I need something to save face!

thanks

Camron Rust Thu May 22, 2003 01:16pm

Re: Question 2
 
Quote:

Originally posted by kent
Re: Player A1 shoots and hits nothing but the backboard (no rim) and A1 then catches it.

Didn't this use to be an illegal play? Either that or I am losing it! Maybe I am thinking on free throws it has to hit the rim? and that you cannot throw it off the backboard essentially to yourself when shooting a free throw?

Not that I'm aware of. On FTs it must hit the rim (or go in) to be legal. Otherwise, it's a FT violation.

Quote:

Originally posted by kent

And to clarify: Does it have to be a legitimate shot for it to be a legal play by the letter of the law. Or is it still legal if you "pass" it to yourself with an obvious lack of intent to shoot on the pass.

All it has to do is hit the board. No try necessary. The pure airball/rebound has to be a try to not be a travel.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri May 23, 2003 06:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by kent
I would like to know the rulings for both Men?s college and NBA basketball:



1) Player A1 goes up for a shot and the defender B1 is in position prior to A1 going up for a shot (and outside the ?under the basket circle? for the purpose of the NBA). Before the contact A1 shoots, he then contacts B1 and commits a foul on b1 and then the shot goes in, under traditional lore it would be a charge Does the shot count if released before contact was made? IF it does not count was this a recent change?

<FONT COLOR=BLUE> Yes, for NCAA and NBA, the shot counts. No change. High School, the no basket.</font>



Cameron, you are only half correct concerning NCAA rules. NCAA Men's is the same as NBA/WNBA and NCAA Women's is the same as NFHS.

ChuckElias Fri May 23, 2003 07:33am

Hmmmmmm
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by kent
Player A1 goes up for a shot and <font color = green>(1)</font> the defender B1 is in position prior to A1 going up for a shot (and outside the ?under the basket circle? for the purpose of the NBA). <font color = green>(2)</font> Before the contact A1 shoots, <font color = green>(3)</font> he then contacts B1 and commits a foul on b1 and then <font color = green>(4)</font> the shot goes in,
<FONT COLOR=BLUE> Yes, for NCAA and NBA, the shot counts. No change. High School, the no basket.</font>

Cameron, you are only half correct concerning NCAA rules. NCAA Men's is the same as NBA/WNBA and NCAA Women's is the same as NFHS. [/B]
Mark, look at the play again. . .
(1) Legal defense position by B1 before shooter A1 goes airborne;
(2) Shot is released by A1;
(3) A1 charges into B1;
(4) Ball enters basket.

In NCAA men's, you would score the basket and shoot 1-and-1 at the other end if Team B is in the bonus. There is neither player nor team control once the try is released.

As I pointed out above, however, in the NBA no points can be scored when an offensive foul is assessed.

I think you may want to revise your reply to Camron.

Chuck

Dan_ref Fri May 23, 2003 07:54am

Re: Hmmmmmm
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by kent
Player A1 goes up for a shot and <font color = green>(1)</font> the defender B1 is in position prior to A1 going up for a shot (and outside the ?under the basket circle? for the purpose of the NBA). <font color = green>(2)</font> Before the contact A1 shoots, <font color = green>(3)</font> he then contacts B1 and commits a foul on b1 and then <font color = green>(4)</font> the shot goes in,
<FONT COLOR=BLUE> Yes, for NCAA and NBA, the shot counts. No change. High School, the no basket.</font>

Cameron, you are only half correct concerning NCAA rules. NCAA Men's is the same as NBA/WNBA and NCAA Women's is the same as NFHS.
Mark, look at the play again. . .
(1) Legal defense position by B1 before shooter A1 goes airborne;
(2) Shot is released by A1;
(3) A1 charges into B1;
(4) Ball enters basket.

In NCAA men's, you would score the basket and shoot 1-and-1 at the other end if Team B is in the bonus. There is neither player nor team control once the try is released.

As I pointed out above, however, in the NBA no points can be scored when an offensive foul is assessed.

I think you may want to revise your reply to Camron.

Chuck [/B]
I think Mark's point might be that NCAAW and NFHS both include the airborne shooter for PC fouls, which is different from NCAAM. I really have no idea how the nba/wnba handles it.

ChuckElias Fri May 23, 2003 09:22am

Re: Re: Hmmmmmm
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Cameron, you are only half correct concerning NCAA rules. NCAA Men's is the same as NBA/WNBA and NCAA Women's is the same as NFHS.
I think Mark's point might be that NCAAW and NFHS both include the airborne shooter for PC fouls, which is different from NCAAM.


That is probably true. I focused on the underlined statement. The NCAA men's ruling is not the same as the NBA. I didn't want somebody to think that all charges are now team control fouls in NCAA.

Quote:

I really have no idea how the nba/wnba handles it.

Yes you do. I just told you how the NBA handles it :D

Dan_ref Fri May 23, 2003 10:58am

Re: Re: Re: Hmmmmmm
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias

Quote:

I really have no idea how the nba/wnba handles it.

Yes you do. I just told you how the NBA handles it :D

"lah lah lah lah I can't hear you I can't hear you"

no I don't.

:D

Camron Rust Fri May 23, 2003 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by kent
I would like to know the rulings for both Men?s college and NBA basketball:



1) Player A1 goes up for a shot and the defender B1 is in position prior to A1 going up for a shot (and outside the ?under the basket circle? for the purpose of the NBA). Before the contact A1 shoots, he then contacts B1 and commits a foul on b1 and then the shot goes in, under traditional lore it would be a charge Does the shot count if released before contact was made? IF it does not count was this a recent change?

<FONT COLOR=BLUE> Yes, for NCAA and NBA, the shot counts. No change. High School, the no basket.</font>



Cameron, you are only half correct concerning NCAA rules. NCAA Men's is the same as NBA/WNBA and NCAA Women's is the same as NFHS.

No. I was completely correct. The question was "I would like to know the rulings for both <b>Men's college</b> and NBA basketball".

As far as I know, no men play under NCAA Womens's rules.

BktBallRef Fri May 23, 2003 01:30pm

Let's summarize! :D

NBA - no basket

WNBA - no basket

NCAA Mens - count the basket

NCAA Womens - no basket

NFHS - no basket



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1