View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 21, 2003, 05:00pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by kent
I would like to know the rulings for both Men?s college and NBA basketball:



1) Player A1 goes up for a shot and the defender B1 is in position prior to A1 going up for a shot (and outside the ?under the basket circle? for the purpose of the NBA). Before the contact A1 shoots, he then contacts B1 and commits a foul on b1 and then the shot goes in, under traditional lore it would be a charge Does the shot count if released before contact was made? IF it does not count was this a recent change?

Yes, for NCAA and NBA, the shot counts. No change. High School, the no basket.

2) Player A1 shoots and hits nothing but the backboard (no rim) and A1 then catches it (without the ball hitting the ground or touched by anyone else) and then dribbles or shoots. Is this a loss of possession? I say it is, the people I play with say you can throw the ball off the backboard to yourself basically as a pass to shoot or dunk. I say no.


Legal play. In all levels, once the ball hits the board, any player may retrieve the ball and may dribble again. This is also true for a shot that hits nothing in the NCAA and High School. For the NBA, it is traveling for the shooter to retrieve the ball if it has hit nothing (board, rim, another player).


Can you reference sections of the rules that state the answers?
Reply With Quote