The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 26, 2011, 06:54pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Did you miss the NFHS rule change for this year that says a team is in control of the ball when the ball is at its disposal for a throw-in?
APG - It's the same reason the NCAA-M (@ Michigan State?) play you posted video of earlier this season was discussed and ruled an IW instead of the backcourt violation that was originally whistled by the trail.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 26, 2011, 06:57pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
APG - It's the same reason the NCAA-M (@ Michigan State?) play you posted video of earlier this season was discussed and ruled an IW instead of the backcourt violation that was originally whistled by the trail.
No, that play wasn't a backcourt violation because the NCAA rule specifically allows a player to cause the ball to go into the backcourt if player control hasn't first been established even though the throw-in ended. That play has nothing to do with your play (which is an NFHS case book play).

The reason this is a team control foul is because team A is considered in control when the ball is at their disposal for the throw-in...while the throw-in ended, team control continues until there's a try/tap, the ball becomes dead, or the other team secures possession of the ball. The throw-in ending has nothing to do with how you adjudicate this play.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 26, 2011, 07:17pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Red face Soooo

Is this play wrong, then? And why am I on the strugglebus about this tonight?

Play # 5: "A1 has the ball for an endline throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1's pass to A2, who is standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2's hand and goes into the backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in A's backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no violation since player and team control had not been established in team A's frontcourt before the ball went into Team A's backcourt."

Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Mon Dec 26, 2011 at 07:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 26, 2011, 07:21pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
Is this play wrong, then? And why am I on the strugglebus about this tonight?

Play # 5: "A1 has the ball for an endline throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1's pass to A2, who is standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2's hand and goes into the backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in A's backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no violation since player and team control had not been established in team A's backcourt becore the ball went into Team A's backcourt."
Player and team control in frontcourt necessary for a violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 26, 2011, 07:28pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Player and team control in frontcourt necessary for a violation.
So I've apparently never noted/grasped the full text of 9-9-1 before. Frightening.

Thanks for the help, everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 26, 2011, 08:01pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
So I've apparently never noted/grasped the full text of 9-9-1 before. Frightening.

Thanks for the help, everyone.
For some personal closure, I've figured out why I had forgotten that PC was needed for this in NFHS, and it's because PC isn't required in the frontcourt in NCAA for a BC violation.

"NCAA Rule 9 Section 12. Ball in Back Court
Art. 1. A player shall not be the first to touch the ball in his or her back court (with any part of his or her body, voluntarily or involuntarily) when the ball came from the front court while the player’s team was in team control and the player or a teammate caused the ball to go into the back court."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 27, 2011, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
For some personal closure, I've figured out why I had forgotten that PC was needed for this in NFHS, and it's because PC isn't required in the frontcourt in NCAA for a BC violation.

"NCAA Rule 9 Section 12. Ball in Back Court
Art. 1. A player shall not be the first to touch the ball in his or her back court (with any part of his or her body, voluntarily or involuntarily) when the ball came from the front court while the player’s team was in team control and the player or a teammate caused the ball to go into the back court."
This part of the rule is the same in NFHS and in NCAA. PC in the FC is not required for either. PC INBOUNDS is required before the BC violation rule can be considered.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 26, 2011, 07:22pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
Is this play wrong, then? And why am I on the strugglebus about this tonight?

Play # 5: "A1 has the ball for an endline throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1's pass to A2, who is standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2's hand and goes into the backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in A's backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no violation sinxe ayer and team control had not been established in team A's backcourt becore the ball went into Team A's backcourt."
Here's how you need to view team control during throw-ins...it only affects fouls by the throw-in team...we handle EVERYTHING else the exact same.

In the play above, because player control had not been established first, there is no backcourt violation (as well as 3 second violations or 10 second violations).
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 26, 2011, 07:32pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Here's how you need to view team control during throw-ins...it only affects fouls by the throw-in team...we handle EVERYTHING else the exact same.

In the play above, because player control had not been established first, there is no backcourt violation (as well as 3 second violations or 10 second violations).
So do the 3 second and 10 second counts now start on the first touch, even if it is only a deflection?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 26, 2011, 07:36pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
So do the 3 second and 10 second counts now start on the first touch, even if it is only a deflection?
Nope, those counts do not start until there's been player control.

NFHS Basketball Interpretations 2011-2012

SITUATION 3: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1’s pass to A2, who is also in Team A’s backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball.

RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/ team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2; 9-8)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 26, 2011, 08:05pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Nope, those counts do not start until there's been player control.

NFHS Basketball Interpretations 2011-2012

SITUATION 3: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1’s pass to A2, who is also in Team A’s backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball.

RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/ team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2; 9-8)
The trouble is that, unlike the backcourt rule, the ten second rule was not revised. It doesn't say player and team control, but rather it still says neither a player nor his team may be in continuous control.....

A1's throw-in bounces off A2, then remains untouched in the backcourt for ten seconds.

?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 26, 2011, 07:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
APG - It's the same reason the NCAA-M (@ Michigan State?) play you posted video of earlier this season was discussed and ruled an IW instead of the backcourt violation that was originally whistled by the trail.
It's the difference between Player Control, Player Control Inbounds and Team Control.

It's also the difference between BC violations and TC fouls (and the requirements for each).

edit: or what APG said.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 IAABO Refresher Exam - Question 66 ... BillyMac Basketball 4 Wed Dec 07, 2011 07:37pm
2011 IAABO Refresher Exam - Question 41 ... BillyMac Basketball 3 Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:40am
From NASO newsletter... referee99 Basketball 1 Fri Jan 09, 2009 09:31pm
Newsletter topics Ref_in_Alberta Basketball 10 Mon May 05, 2008 08:45pm
NFHS newsletter shipwreck Softball 6 Sun Aug 22, 2004 03:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1